Skip to content

Idol – not american

February 8, 2010

I don’t really have any stories of working on a project with my father and how in the end the time spent together was what was so precious.  The only projects I ever remember having him involved in were ones he took to work and had someone that worked for him do/build.  That leaves me …well, unsure of spending too much time with God.  That really he doesn’t want to spend time with me.  Why would he?

yet

there is a promise of God that he wants us to live a life that fulfills our deepest desires and transforms us into a life giving person.  Streams of living water, really what being transformed into Christ likeness is about…not just being transformed into a more moral person but one who brings life to others.

We all have strategies for bringing life to ourselves.  Be independent- never ask for help.  Be successful – never want for more.  Really whatever your strategy it is about being fulfilled and happy.   Or at worst not being hurt.

Some of my strategies just don’t work.  What about you?  honestly they never did work.

I’ve been becoming more and more aware that I have sought after other gods.  What an awful statement, but its true.  I’ve chased after things some good and some bad and put God completely out of the picture at times.

I read this passage recently in Soul Revolution

All of us have strategies — mostly shallow ones — for quenching our deepest
thirsts. What’s yours? Identifying your main strategy can be tricky, like trying
to see your nose without a mirror. Often our plan to “find life” gets so woven
into our psyche that it becomes invisible. Even when we do identify that strategy,
it’s terrifying to imagine life without it.
Are you willing to reconsider your strategy? It may not be bad, but it
may also be far less than God intends for you. Ask yourself, are you open to
growth — to change?
One way to begin to uncover your current strategy is to fill in these blanks:
“If only ________________________________,
or if I just ______________________________,
then I will have the life I’ve always wanted.”

too many of my if only’s have involved other people.  If they would only do what I want them to do.

I am trying to gather up all my idols and destroy them as such.  To truly be honest with God and with others, and to see if he really does want to spend time with me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 7:51 am

    You really know that he does. I hope you will continue to share your journey.

  2. February 9, 2010 4:02 pm

    Idols are so subtle. We scoff at a Buddah statue while we secretly love money. It’s easy to say we would never bow down to a statue while we nightly bow before a computer screen. Subtle idols are idols nonetheless. Destroying idols is a full time job, I think. But a worthy one. Love you brother!

  3. February 10, 2010 8:43 pm

    You sure are teaching your children good lessons about spending time with their father,

  4. February 10, 2010 9:58 pm

    Something happened recently that helped me see things a bit clearer. Super Bowl Sunday, I was watching the game in my ManCave. My son was watching the game with some Cross Country teammates at a local restaurant. When the game was over, I heard him come home and I was hoping he would come down so we could talk about the game. But he had school the next day and just went on to bed.

    That little incident got me to thinking… isn’t this what God wants? He’s my Father and He WANTS me to come spend time with Him — talk to Him about “stuff.” Sometimes I make prayer so complicated, or I think that God is too busy, or that I didn’t word my prayer correctly, etc.

  5. February 11, 2010 10:03 am

    Thanks for the comments and encouragement.

  6. May 26, 2010 1:42 pm

    Tommy –

    The past couple of years I’ve just about quit reading any other blogs except for just a couple. Today, I’m trying to correct that and get back in “the groove” just a bit, although I think most of us who have been around for a long time have found it just takes way TOO much time. It really IS much easier to keep up with each other on Facebook.

    I LOVE you, though, kiddo, and this post on idols has me really thinking. I know we shall stay friends through it all, and as in LOST finale Sunday night – all be together one day again in LOVE, which is forever!!

    Love ya!

    Dee

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

