Skip to content

Anybody out there? Please comment.

January 11, 2005

I am in the process of praying and hoping for guidance on several things. One issue is whether to lead a Life group or not. Hard to believe that is a question.. I used to do everything I had the opportunity to do… meaning that some of them didn’t get done well. I have been a proponent of small groups since we moved here 5 years ago. I have probably more experience in and leading small groups than anyone else. But I don’t seem “Compelled” to do this. I need YOUR COMMENTS on another subject. I need ideas for a Wednesday night bible study for a class that ranges from college married couples to mid 30’s members. We are finishing a GREAT study on Finances. WAY out of the box and very challenging. The tougher it gets the more the class grows. Don’t want the class to lose momentum. So what was the best study you have ever been in? This is tricky often it is the teacher that is good. So what have you to say?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2005 3:57 pm

    How about a study using the book “The Jesus Proposal” by Rubel Shelly and John York. Then you can follow it up with “The Jesus Community” by the same guys. If being stretched makes your class grow……..then you better knock out some walls!

    God bless you brother!
    David

  2. January 19, 2005 3:01 pm

    David’s ideas are good. Depending on how elastic your group is, A Generous Orthodoxy by Brian McLaren might be good. It does a pretty good job of giving the history of many denominations and movements and seeks to glean what is good from them. He does not gloss over the bad, though.

  3. January 19, 2005 3:15 pm

    Thanks guys! I am seriously considering both. It is still up in the air. I am trying to encourage some new teachers to teach for a while. We are in an area with a VERY high percentage of educated people but not enough people willing to teach them. I have enjoyed reading both your blogs lately. David, I actually share the same home town as Rubel and have read most of his writings over the years, but I have this one still in the stack to be read. The McLaren book is one that I have not read either. I have “A new kind of Christian” also in the to be read catagory. I will try to remember to post a new blog when this subject is determined.

Leave a Reply

