Skip to content

Easter

March 25, 2005

For those who may read this it may seem hard to understand a group of Christians that do not celebrate Easter. That is my heritage. Yesterday in inviting a neighbor to church, my wife asked about the neighbor (who has a history with the Lutheran church)about if they were going to church this weekend. It came out that we were doing nothing “special” for Easter. Unless you count our minister being at Tulsa and we get to hear someone else.

Last Easter we were in Birmingham for a Sara Groves concert. We were honored, really honored to attend Crossbridge. Their Easter tradition is to all sit at tables and focus on the breaking of the bread and the drinking of the cup. Children were encouraged to participate, sadly mine were stunned. Everyone was encouraged to get up and visit if they wished. We were greeted by several. It turned out we were at a table with another visitor. A “non-Christian” who had been coming seeking someone to love him. I so hope he has found that. I wish that same experience was in store for this Sunday.

Well, with a lack of tradition of my own, I think I will try to watch “The Passion” this weekend, preferably tonight on Good Friday. I Guess I should watch it in the early to mid afternoon. I have avoided that DVD since we bought it. We went to the theater and it is just a box I don’t want to open. But I think it will be good to watch it.

I plan to throw down the gauntlet (at least to my class) this Sunday. We finish a study of John, really a study of relationship with Jesus. I hope I don’t hear that we celebrate the resurrection every Sunday… Usually not what I think anyone would characterize as a celebration. I hope to challenge our church to focus on the empty tomb, on the hope of our resurrection on the power of God.

Hope you have a great Easter, that you have or will start a tradition that honors God.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2005 10:10 pm

    New reader here hopping in from Cope’s blog.

    I can identify with several things you’ve written and I’d like to come back and read more. As a fellow Mississippian, I know what you’re talking about!

  2. February 6, 2006 10:03 am

    Powerful blog. The site was incredible and will be
    back again! Web surfing helps to find good blogs like
    this one.
    Hey why don’t you peep my sc south carolina house cleaning blog site.

Leave a Reply

