Skip to content

I affirm Christ… isn’t that enough?

April 28, 2005

I have not written in a while, I think due to the 40 days of Fat looming over my head. Or should I say looming over my belt. It’s about to begin.

There was an interesting ad in the Christian Chronicle. Page 15 to be exact you can also read it here

I’ve been waiting on someone to respond to it. Apparently you can respond but they don’t show the responses. Keith Brenton has a interesting read of the “Last Will and Testament…” if you have not read it before you should. His comments are a good read as normal.

I suspect that this Christian affirmation is a response to the growing chorus of voices that feel a need to change in order to better meet our culture. That is scary business to some folks. The thought that the Emerging church is out authenticing (new word) us, disturbs some. The quest to be vintage and genuine and just be Christians …

Well, Wade Hodges latest series of posts puts to words a great synopsis of what a lot of folks are feeling.

Anything that we have more allegance toward (whether a church name, a style of worship, a old song or new song, a you name it) than we have toward Christ is wrong. It is being placed before him and God forgive us. We all do it at times.

On another note, my 9 year old ARBY’s Yankees are are on a 4 game winning streak after dropping the first 2 games. We play again tonight against the Braves. None of those kids care what brand of baseball we play. Whether we play small ball or long ball. They just like playing. Winning is not bad either. Can’t leave out Caleb’s T-ball team. They are undefeated. He is a bit obsessed for a 5 year old. Lifting his mom’s hand weights, asking if he is eating healthy, wanting to get to bed so he can be rested up for his game… funny stuff.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2005 11:39 am

    Ah, I figured it out. According to the page on the “Affirmation” site on which ministers, elders and teachers (that pretty well leaves out the ladies, don’t it?) are invited to join in the dialogue, it will be “beginning on or about July 15, 2005.”

    Perhaps – like Bill Cosby, whose teacher said he’d get his comic book back at the end of the semester – they think it’ll take us that long to read it.

  2. April 28, 2005 2:14 pm

    The July 15th date makes me think that they have more plans to publish in perhaps other journals (GA, SS, ?) … but the other journals are less likely to accept someone on the list of signers … thus creating a fundamental problem. The CHRISTIAN AFFIRMATION that seems to want to speak for all Christians doesn’t do so … we know it doesn’t on the LEFT…but it doesn’t on the RIGHT either.

    The section on Instrumental Music will be seen as restrictive by the LEFT and at the same time be seen as namby pamby cotton candy the RIGHT.

    It’s a worthless document.

  3. April 30, 2005 12:53 pm

    As a signer of “A Christian Affirmation,” I thought I might be able to clarify a couple of questions raised about the statement. (I hope it’s clear that I’m speaking only for myself here and not for any of the other signers.) I’ve volunteered to be involved in moderating the discussion that’s announced on the web site, and July 15 or thereabouts has been set for the opening because that’s after I’ll be done teaching summer classes and have a few weeks before the fall semester to devote to that, which I expect to be rather time-consuming. (At present the plan is to use Google groups to house the discussion; if anyone knows a downside to that or a reason to prefer Yahoo or another service I’d be glad to consider it.)

    Since its initial appearance, the statement has already attracted female signers. There is no intent to exclude women from the moderated discussion, and any woman who teaches in our churches is welcome to participate. (Such teachers are among the most important in my own personal history, as is true for many reared in Churches of Christ.)

    The “Affirmation” does not presume to speak for all Christians or to impose beliefs on anyone; it expresses the convictions of the signers and commends those convictions to others. In that respect it’s no different from a sermon preached to a congregation, an article published in a journal, or a comment posted to a blog. My hope is that it will encourage reflection that will strengthen the witness of our churches.

    Every good wish in Christ,

    Jeff Peterson

  4. May 2, 2005 12:55 pm

    Jeff,
    I was going to e-mail this to you, but since you sent it with no reply I will post here.

    thanks for your comments. I think most people’s question revolve around why this was written, who is motivated enough to write it and pay to publish it, and what drive this motivation. As I know you know, but because so many of us were raised with a healthy view of autonomy and rejection of creeds. This document causes some conversation. Which may be it purpose.

    As I think I have said, A number of people on the list of signees are people I know and have a lot of respect for, please understand nothing is directed at you or anyone else personally, just questions about the document.

    I am not sure how you found your way to my site, but thanks again for the comment. And I too hope that our witness as churches is strengthed.

  5. February 6, 2006 8:21 am

    Creative blog.  I thought it was the best site out
    and we had to go back to it! Every chance I get on the
    net I search for blogs just like your site.
    Please go over my in indiana house cleaning blog.

Leave a Reply

