Skip to content

Apparently the Doctor has a hold on a lot of you

May 10, 2005


Let me be clear.

I drank Dr Peppers like I consume air. I too would have thought I would give up my house before Dr Pepper. But as hard as it is for some of you to believe, He is gone like Elvis!

Which reminds me of a trip to III Forks restaurant in Dallas. My sister wines and dines there often. She took me and my other sister there one night and I hear behind me a loud, “How’d ya get all the blonds?”. I turn and a 50 year old man dressed in white from head to toe, with his hair wet is reaching to shake my hand. He has in is hand something round and gold. Now maybe you think it unchristian of me to think this, but I thought this kook is handing me a condom!

It turns out to be a III Forks coin. Apparently an honor to receive. The coin on one side says, “Attitude is Everything…Luck helps” The other side says, “The eye of the master fattens the calf”. I think I am too dumb to understand the second one and what it has to do with a restaurant. But this guy “Gene” tells me (since I live in Mississippi) that he misses Elvis.

Why did I tell that.. .well to me it was funny he also says he takes showers in his front yard because it draws a crowd.

And, I thought I was getting one thing and it turned out to be something else. Kind of like Dr Pepper. It was once the “pepper upper” and then we were encouraged to “Be a Pepper” it was even once called “The most misunderstood softdrink” but now it salutes the individual! Really? I think not! Run the guy out of town.

I have decided to not address the Christian affirmation any further… but I have very close to home call for orthodoxy that I am debating on whether to post about or not.

By the way that pound is back off again today!
Posted by Hello

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2005 11:20 am

    well…thanks for your comment on my blog. 🙂 and I laughed so much between that and your post today that my two year old says, “What are you laughing about?”

  2. May 10, 2005 12:04 pm

    Tommy –

    Just remember that Elvis has only left the building – he’s not REALLY gone! (In fact, we saw him in Memphis last July on the 50th anniversary of his first recording with Sun Records.) So when you say Dr. Pepper is “gone like Elvis,” you’d better watch out!

    Especially in Mississippi, you know?! I mean, he may have come home again to Tupelo!

    But in the mean time, I’m glad you’re sticking with your “principles” and with your diet and giving up at least one addiction. If you’re like me, you have several. ha!

    Dee

  3. May 11, 2005 9:01 am

    I’ve taken a break from teh evil Dr. for 48 hours, just to see if I could do it.

    I’m not addicted – I could stop whenever I wanted to .

    Oh wait, I’m a counselor and I think I’ve heard that one before.

Leave a Reply

