Skip to content

40 days of Fat continues

May 24, 2005

I finally got a few more pounds off. If you wonder how bad it could get, read this.

Obese woman referred to zoo

A 29-stone New York woman says she was humiliated when she was told to go to a zoo for an x-ray.

Jennifer Walters is bed-ridden and cannot fit into a magnetic resonance imaging machine.

She told the New York Post that a doctor said she should go instead to the Bronx Zoo for an x-ray.

“It’s humiliating. I was told if elephants and hippos need MRIs, they have the equipment at the Bronx Zoo. It was like I was an animal,” she said.

New York politicians recently called for an end to what they termed medical discrimination against obese people.

The Bronx Zoo told the Post it gets about a dozen such calls a year but it doesn’t have such facilities for its animals.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2005 4:49 pm

    Well, when Scrubbing Toilets…. came up on my bloglines I was sure it was a mistake….Not sure the name fits, Might want to give that a little more thought…

  2. May 24, 2005 9:55 pm

    I do not like your new title. You are a very vivid writer and I like what you write. I am confident you can come up with something to compliment the gift God has given you!

    Here’s a sign that when I read it I was so praying it wasn’t a ‘church of Christ’:

    http://www.thedigitalcourier.com/articles/2005/05/24/news/news01.txt

  3. February 6, 2006 10:22 am

    Great blog.  I just like the site and I will get a
    visit again! In my spare time I usually try and look
    for blogs just as neat as yours.
    Please consider looking at my nm new mexico house cleaning blog.

Leave a Reply

