Skip to content

40 days, rolling stones and the tabernacle

June 9, 2005


40 days of Fat is over. Hopefully I have changed some habits. Somehow this Carvaggio seemed appropriate

I ran across the husband (who I will not identify without permission) of “the woman” related to “the problem“. It seems that she read after he read, standing beside him, and she said “Who will roll the stone away for us?”. For that we are willing to cast out, to reject to dismiss. I don’t even feel the need to say more.

Many of you have asked about the problem. It will not be officially addressed until August. By then this year of camp will be in the books. The is time for individual conversations that I hope will be useful. Keep praying!

In response to a few of Fajita’s blogs I would like to pose a question. It seems that Fajita is signing on to a new “anti” movement. No longer are kitchens evil, but any building is evil. Please don’t try to explain his point to me, I get it!

God gave very elaborate plans for the tabernacle and later the Temple.

Why?

I would love to hear some of your ideas. I have some thoughts that I will save for tomorrow.
Posted by Hello

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2005 4:18 pm

    I think Fajita just likes to stir things up an see what surfaces in the soup!

    (Tortilla soup, I presume.)

    Most of Israel was never permitted inside a certain border of their tabernacle and temple. (Women could only gather in the women’s court.) It wasn’t a building for men, but for God. Waste of money and time? God and Israel didn’t think so.

    I think there is a sense in which Christ is wherever 2 or 3 gather in His name, and that He lives in us through His Spirit; whether that obviates the need for a building, I’m not clear. Christians of century one met publicly and from house to house. After 70 A.D. they could no longer meet at the temple courts. They were thrown out of a synagogue at least once, and met in a house. Houses and temples were buildings. (I’m pretty sure they didn’t have resources for a cyberchurch back then.) Tradition and archaeology seem to indicate that at least the Roman church met in catacombs.

    Ya gotta get together someplace.

    But I’ve already said as much as I needed to say about big ol’ church buildings at my post Thanks by Giving.

  2. June 9, 2005 4:37 pm

    Why was the veil of the temple torn into when Jesus died? I always thought it was symbolic of our new access to God through Jesus and not through a “temple”.

    I don’t think the problem IS the building, but the way we turn the building into a “shrine”. We sing songs like “God is in his Holy Temple, Let all keep silence before him” and we are talking about the building (at least where I worship).

    Keith is right, we must meet someplace, but we cannot think that where we meet is the most important thing. And although no one says that it is the most important thing, we sure do act like it. Has any church you know of collected 6 million dollars in one day for a work of benevolence?

    I am shutting up now!

  3. June 9, 2005 6:00 pm

    I think that God wanted to inspire a sense of AWE in His people when they came to worship or offer sacrifices. He wanted it to be SO GRAND that they forgot about everything else and were reminded of the greatness and kingship of God.
    I think God wants US to have the same sense of awe today. Unfortunately, we fight more about our buildings (which aren’t WORTHY of His presence anyways) and forget about His magnificence.
    This is why now (wherever we see His greatness) we can feel free to worship!
    Good question! Keep ’em coming!

  4. June 9, 2005 7:01 pm

    I agree with Keith that “…there is a sense in which Christ is wherever 2 or 3 gather in His name, and He lives in us through His Spirit….” So, the building doesn’t matter a whit.

    Further, I have never felt, as DJG does, that the song “The Lord Is In His Holy Temple” refers to the “building” we are in at all. The song is from Habakkuk 2:20, which says “The LORD is in his holy temple; let all the earth keep silence before him.”

    That – along with Christ telling us he is present with us wherever 2 or 3 of us are “gathered in his name” – conveys the sense that God is, indeed, most wonderful and powerful and that we should be in AWE of him, no matter when we get together or where and whether in Old Testament times or New Testament times or now until eternity.

    The “new order,” if you want to label Christianity such, is a time when God and Christ want to deal with us individually and collectively in a more intimate way, wherever and whenever and however. But, we still should be in AWE and should approach God and Christ with fear and trembling.

    Male and female, Jew or Greek. Whoever, however.

  5. June 10, 2005 6:49 am

    Dee, I wouldn’t feel that way either if it had not been introduced that way and the audience asked to be silent in respect.

    I “know” where God is, I just worry that we act like he “dwells only” in the buildings in which we assemble. I am not advocating doing away with buildings; I got real excited when I drove by our construction site yesterday and actually saw some progress; but I think we need a revival of our attitude about the building and the organization for that matter.

    We would like to see Jesus- John 12:21

Leave a Reply

