Skip to content

Look How God has Blessed You

June 23, 2005

In May I was a groomsman. I am a little old in my opinion to be a groomsman. That job is for those in their 20’s. Kenneth my PhD., author friend was getting married. We had been friends since our first day in Mrs. Sasser’s kindergarten class. We grew up playing and camping and scouting and generally getting into trouble together. We had only recently re-united. So I was glad to be there as he smiled bigger than I had ever seen.

The best part was seeing his parents. They had welcomed me into their home more times than I could count. Sonny his dad is a bear of a man. Gentle and at the same time strict and a little scary to a young child. He used to always threaten to “worm me”. They are as country as folks can get. Deer season was open whenever they needed food. He ran a sawmill for a living. They were devout Pentecostals. They had no TV. They sat around playing and picking out music each night.

They attended “Oscar’s church”. We had two such churches. The other was called “Francis’ church”. Oscar Cole was seen as the leader of the local Pentecostal contingent. Once Oscar’s wife Juanita, was confronted by the new preacher for “getting the spirit a little too often”. She was widely known to get the feeling every week. He thought that was a little unsightly and likely an act. Oscar was seen by many beating the tar out of the preacher on the front steps instead of giving him the usually expected handshake.

But back to the Vickers. Once Sonny, Kenneth and I ate a dozen eggs and a pound of bacon for breakfast while camping and Sonny went all the way to town to get more for us. He another time came off the porch when their horse bit me. He proceed to introduce the snout of the horse to the business end of a claw hammer. It didn’t bite again. (It was a dumb horse, but that is another story)

I took the opportunity to tell Sonny and Dorris that I was thankful to them for all the times they let me come to their house. It was one of the sanctuaries in my youth. A place where I was safe. I told them I now realized that in that small town, everyone knew what my home life was like. I didn’t know then, I thought no one knew “our secret”. Sonny said “We knew son”. I thanked them again and he said, “Just look how God has blessed you through it.” He pointed to my wife and three boys, “A fine family”.

A fine blessing indeed. He told me as we left that day. “You know I think of you as one of my own, if you ever need ANYTHING, you just call me, son.” He meant it and I love him for it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2005 12:27 pm

    It is wonderful to have people like that in your life. ONe of life’s little blessings!

  2. June 23, 2005 2:38 pm

    This story should be rated K (for kleenex)–perhaps even 2 K.

    The older I get the more amazed I am that God took care of me through so many times and I didn’t realize until years later.

    Sounds like he has richly blessed you today–in many ways!!

    Blessings!
    JB

  3. June 23, 2005 5:09 pm

    I love your story about your friend and his family. You know, that’s what it’s all about in this life – each of us helping each other in any way we can along the way as we see need among those around us.

    I just hope I am as aware of others in their needs as they were of the needs you had. You are, and were, blessed indeed to have them in your life at such a critical time.

    And, you are blessed today and a blessing to all of us, too!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

