Skip to content

What will the weekend be like?

July 1, 2005

I haven’t had time to post what I want to. It will take some time and effort to put into words. I thought I should write after doing some work at good old MSU and today seeing the John Grisham Room… I had to post something.

Our youngest son Titus will be 2 tommorrow! Apparently our brother-in-law and my wife are already at odds over the patriotic theme. He has wrapped himself in the flag of postmodernism and doubts most all things except for a firm belief that pringles are good for you. Kim, who I joke was baptised for forgiveness of once thinking a library book was overdue, told me this morning she didn’t “give a rat’s butt if he liked it”. Soooo Happy 4th. At least I doubt our clebration will be this offensive:

Gravediggers in a Belgian city have been criticised for holding a barbecue party in a cemetery.
It follows a complaint from a couple who visited the cemetery at Merksem, Antwerp, to visit the grave of their son.
François and Magda Boljau were shocked to find the gravediggers holding a party in a shed at the cemetery, reports Het Nieuwsblad.
Mrs Bolijau said: “It was happening only 15 metres from his grave. The music of ‘Sex bomb, sex bomb’ was coming very loud from the loudspeakers.
“Children were playing between the graves. I couldn’t stand it and ran away in tears.”
Alderman Erwin Pairon, who is responsible for Antwerp’s cemeteries, said he was very annoyed with the gravediggers.
The gravediggers insisted they held a party every year in the same shed and that nobody had complained before.
But Alderman Pairon said: “Next year, they have to move. I understand it is very upsetting for the parents to have to listen to a party when they came to mourn.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2005 5:36 pm

    So your brother-in-law don’t like the “theme” for your son’s birthday??? I don’t get it!

    Oh well! Happy 4th. I haven’t got to blog like I have wanted to either, probably won’t for a while.

    See ya! (well really I won’t see you, I will just read your stuff….)

  2. July 1, 2005 8:29 pm

    he doesn’t like it because its patriotic and somehow in his America is not God’s chosen country mantra he has become anti-patriotic display. I think. Not really sure, its between the two of them and I don’t think its worth arguing over. The last time he and I had a serious conversation he was not sure of the authenticity of the Bible or much of anything. But I am sure he likes pringles.

  3. July 4, 2005 8:01 am

    Great story about the grave diggers! What is sacred to some is a job to others.

  4. July 5, 2005 10:31 am

    I’m late slipping in here, but I, too, had internet problems Friday afternoon (as in no internet service for the rest of the day!) and then we ended up being gone the rest of the weekend over to the coast to visit some friends.

    I just hope you had a great 4th of July weekend, despite the disgruntled brother-in-law. We don’t have to believe America is God’s “chosen” country to be patriotic, for sure. If he doesn’t like all the fun, let him stay home or stay in the other room or whatever, is what I’d tell him! Actually, I’m like you – it’s not worth arguing over. Let him do his own thing if that’s what he wants.

    Hope your youngest had a great birthday party as we all celebrated our country’s “birthday.” My daughter was “due” on July 4th (her birthday is NEXT Monday) and I always thought of her as a firecracker going off a week late. She didn’t let me down in that regard, either!

    Later.

    Dee

  5. July 6, 2005 6:15 pm

    I continued with “my story” thanks to your encouragement and others. I am not getting the messages though when people send me a post — so I hope you get this message. Blessings!

  6. February 6, 2006 10:28 am

    Enchanting blog. Your site was off the chain and I
    will return! I peep the web for blogs just like this
    one.
    Hey why don’t you peep my wi wisconsin house cleaning blog site.–>

Leave a Reply

