Skip to content

Camp was great.

July 18, 2005

I will try to post a more meaningful post about camp later. One thing that sticks in my head was when the staff was voting for best campers (there are a younger boy and girl and older boy and girl).

One of the older girls selected as a candidate is from a children’s home. She has had a tough life so far. In her 4 1/2 years in the children’s home she has had 14 sets of house parents. She is currently without any.

My co-director and myself remove ourselves from commenting or voting. One staff member (whose two daughters were also nominated) leaned over to me and asked if he should mention that they consider who “needs” this more. I being already physically and emotionally tired began to cry. I told him it was up to him, but when a family member needs something we should respond.

She received the award and I saw God in our staff. They too had received the message of James. They said to the one in ragged clothes “You sit in the seat of honor”.

4 children who the world would never pick received our awards this year. They were not popularity contests nor were they pity awards. 4 children that looked like Jesus in various ways were selected. I smiled through my tears, I hope God did as well.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2005 3:36 pm

    Welcome back, you were missed!

    How wonderful to see people like Jesus told us to. It made tears come to my eyes to.

  2. July 18, 2005 3:37 pm

    That was supposed to say “live like Jesus told us to…” fingers don’t listen to brain…

  3. July 18, 2005 5:24 pm

    Tommy! I don’t think you can write a more meaningful post about camp than this one you’ve just written. I’m sitting here crying from the impact of what you had to say here today about yourself (and your deeply kind and loving heart), about your staffers and about the sad story of the young camper’s life so far and what y’all did for her.

    I’m so glad you’re back! We’ve missed you. But, you obviously spent your week well doing God’s work among all the innocent children He brought to you to minister to.

    Welcome back and thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings with us today and showing us God’s love in action.

  4. July 18, 2005 7:13 pm

    Your post reminded me of Jesus choosing his apostles, which was very different than the normal selection process of the day. It is good to hear that your staff saw these campers like Jesus did. This story will live on!

  5. July 20, 2005 10:30 pm

    When that little girl is 75 years old, she will shed a tear as she remembers the time that a camp full of Christians honored her so beautifully. God bless you.

  6. July 21, 2005 10:09 am

    God works that way, blessing us more for the work we do in his name.

    Thanks for sharing and blessing me!

  7. July 21, 2005 4:34 pm

    When I was in grade four I got picked to go to a Bible Camp that summer for free. I had no idea what kind of camp I was going to, I just knew that somehow I got picked.

    I could write a book about that experience. From the intimidation factor of not knowing one single thing about the Bible to crying my heart out over being mean to a cabinmate. Never had I cried in front of an adult before.

    15 years later when I became a Christian God reminded me of that summer.

  8. February 6, 2006 8:40 am

    Super blog. I web surf when I have the time for
    blogs like this one.Your site was nice and will be
    visited again!
    Look who checking out my ks kansas house cleaning blog?

Leave a Reply

