Skip to content

The first brick to fall from the facade

July 26, 2005

In the next few weeks we began counseling. When asked about my relationship with my sisters, I just started bawling. I couldn’t control myself.

Kim sat coldly beside me. It was as cold as she had ever been. As my dear friend who was counceling us left the room for a few minutes. I came to realize I felt my sisters had abandoned me. I had dealt with my alcoholic father years ago, I had never even thought about how my sisters fit into the picture and my mother…. I feared.

I had been praying for months that whatever it was that was wrong with my wife, whether it was depression, or satanic attack, that God would transfer it to me. To let me bear the burden. I didn’t realize until recently that prayer was answered.

After several sessions with just me, because obviously I had some issues that I had to address before we could work on us. I was told I had to deal with my feelings toward my sisters, write them a letter, or a phone call or go see them, it was up to me.

Next the letter to my sisters.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2005 3:46 pm

    Tommy –

    I’m so sorry you had to go through such terrible times and such grief both growing up and in your marriage. But, I’m so thankful you were able to find someone who could help you break through to the past and to see things in ways you had never seen them before.

    I understand how bad things can get and feel for you. It is encouraging, though, to know that you got the help you needed. And I’ll keep reading as you talk with us, too.

  2. July 26, 2005 4:33 pm

    Dee,
    thanks for your encouragement. I am putting this down in writing for three reasons.
    1. it is good for me
    2. So that I will have it written for my sons to have.
    3. Because I believe God can be seen working through it.

    Hopefully that last will come out clearly.

  3. July 26, 2005 5:42 pm

    Your vulnerability and openness is an encouragement to many of us who have stories to tell…but have kept them inside.

  4. July 26, 2005 5:42 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  5. July 27, 2005 9:04 am

    I am so sorry you are having to go through this pain.
    Remember there is light at the end of the tunnel, and you will be stronger without the burden of the pain of your past.

    God has mighty and great things in store for you!

  6. February 6, 2006 8:13 am

    Irresistible blog. I look for blogs like this one
    when time allows me to. I enjoyed the site and I’ll
    check it next time!
    Please go over my wv west virginia house cleaning blog.

Leave a Reply

