Skip to content

the response

July 28, 2005

My sisters response was all you could hope for. Out of respect for their privacy I will not post their replies. They all replied in love and sorrow. I came to feel for the first time that I had family. Not Aunts. My sisters ages are 20,18 and 12 when I was born so I didn’t grow up with them. One in particular called and cried and cried with me over as she said “Her stupid, stupid Pride”.

Somehow we all got the message that we are better than others in the podunk town we grew up in and our home problems should stay at home. She had never, never confided in anyone at all about anything involving our parents or the problems we grew up with. Amazing.

We decided to get together to talk.

We spent a weekend sharing and confronting and loving each other. It was the first time we had all been a room and really talked. I know that seems like an overstatement. It is not. We all agreed we had never talked to each other. There were times that they hurt each other (not trying to, but we had never said how we felt).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2005 1:40 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how a one ton elephant can be in the room and we don’t address it, for years!

    God used you to break the ice, confront the elephant, so to speak, and to grow in love, truth, and honesty.

    I eagerly await tomorrow’s post.

  2. July 28, 2005 9:48 pm

    I’m glad you and your sisters all got together to talk. Ever since I left home at an early age, I’ve been one who deeply believed in talking with those around me about problems and things “between us.”

    I realize we can’t always do that with everyone we know and in every situation, but for the most part that has been a big practice in my life. And, for the better I believe.

    Looking forward to your next entry.

Leave a Reply

