Skip to content

The camp problem comes to a head

August 10, 2005

The camp issue that I have mentioned in the past is coming to a head this weekend. We will meet to discuss “business” and on the agenda is a discussion of women’s roles, mechanical instrumental music in worship, vocal percussion and clapping.

How can we possibly cover this in a day?

We need lots of prayer!!

Interestingly one of the main people calling for dismissal of those who see differently than he does (the right way in his mind). Expressed that, “someone had to put clapping in there, I don’t have a problem with clapping”. Well somebody does. I hope he can see that there are two sides on the issues he feels so strongly about.

The whole thing makes me feel as if I am about to get sick. I feel the need to puke.

My dear friend who is the chairman and I don’t agree on these issues. We don’t even agree on how to approach this meeting. So I will try to balance keeping my mouth shut and standing up what I believe in.

I hope we keep in mind what is best for the kids, All the kids.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2005 3:58 pm

    I don’t know if you read my blogging friend Ed’s Blog but he posted about a similar experience with camp.

    I hate conflict, so I feel for you. It is especially hard when someone you love and respect has a very different opinion. I will pray that all goes well…and peaceably!

  2. August 10, 2005 5:25 pm

    I don’t think that our camp would even go the the Vocal Percussion. Any talk of instruments would cause an earthquake with all of the cabins being swalloed by the earth followed by each of the 10 plagues, only worse than Egypt got them! My only suggestion for the meeting would be to begin with a few hours of prayer and then talk about how much God has done for each of you through the camp and other areas. I believe that by telling the story of God’s work in personal ways, we can show those with whom we disagree that we still love God and want to be true to Scripture, we just gently disagree.

    Good luck with the meeting. I have so much respect for those who preside over Godly activities when human agendas and power struggles creep in.

    Blessings!

  3. August 10, 2005 9:11 pm

    Tommy – I wrote a long eloquent comment while ago and then Blogger went down for maintenance as I tried to post it! So much for that.

    My main point was that I am going to pray for you all who are involved in the “meeting” this weekend and especially for you that you can be wise and exhibit God’s love at it’s finest in all you say and do.

    Like you say – it’s all about the kids.

  4. August 11, 2005 1:28 pm

    Hey Believing Thomas!

    Are you a member of the Church of Christ? I grew up in that church and went to Lipscomb. Haven’t heard any other branches of Christianity talking about “mechanical instruments” lately, so I thought I’d ask!

    Nancy

  5. August 11, 2005 1:53 pm

    Nancy,
    Yes you are right in that assumption.

  6. August 11, 2005 2:01 pm

    Believing Thomas,

    Hey! Which camp? I went to MidSouth in Henderson, TN, where I was baptized in the pool late one night by the head counselor!

    🙂

    NJ

  7. August 11, 2005 2:15 pm

    Nancy,
    I am a board member at Sardis Lake Christian Camp which is near Oxford, MS.

    But I grew up attending Mid-South. How old are you? We may have been there the same time.

  8. August 11, 2005 5:37 pm

    I am praying for you right now.

Trackbacks

  1. trip to camp « Believing Thomas

Leave a Reply

