Skip to content

Things are not always what they seem.

August 12, 2005

Boy is that a true statement! First I have to let you know that the bikes are not real. For those wanting to know how/ why I would come across these… they come from Gizmodo. If you don’t know Gizmodo and you are into electronics … well where have you been?

After I posted these I saw something that made me say to myself… these are digital. This morning Gizmodo confimed that they had been duped. I should have seen it sooner. I do spend a significant part of my time creating digital images. But they are pretty good ones.

Which brings me to other things. I received a bit of advice from John Eldridge. He sent me an e-mail and said that I need to make sure I was hydrated (specific instructions on how much water to drink over this next week. And that I should expect some serious opposition.

We home school and started back last week.. it has been a rocky start for my wife

This whole camp thing is coming to a head

Our church is considering a building program and I felt I was put in an embarrassing situation by our elders

I can’t seem to get the work done that I need to.

I have been sick.

Are all these just happenings? Are things what they appear to be? Is the evil one at work? John Eldridge would say yes he is.

Next Wednesday I fly to Denver. From there I will make my way out to a 4 day boot camp for men. I really don’t know what to expect and will tell you more later.

Do you sense opposition in you life when your trying to do something good or new?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2005 2:10 pm

    The answer to your last question: Yes!

    I am sorry you have been sick. I would be interested in hearing your views on your building program. I ride a virtual roller-coaster with my feelings on the subject.

    Watch out for that Evil one…I hear that he has been to Denver too!!

  2. August 12, 2005 4:13 pm

    Many times, yes. Unfortunately. And the older we get, the closer we try to get to God, the worse the “opposition” gets at times, although I think we learn to draw closer to God and to depend on Him more at the same time and He is more powerful than all the evils that can try to overtake us and overwhelm us and to consume us.

    Your trip next week sounds really interesting and we’re going to want to hear all about it. A couple of weeks ago I had followed John Eldridge’s link from your blog and spent quite a while reading about all the different things they are doing with men and women at the retreats and all. It sounded like something I would have loved to do when I was younger.

    How did you find out about all of that? Just curious. Can’t wait to hear more about it all from someone who has gone.

  3. August 15, 2005 12:22 am

    Can’t wait to hear about this retreat!

    Ugh… I feel there are spiritual smokescreens you have to fight through to get to the blessings God has for us.

    It’s amazing what’s going on around us spiritually that we aren’t aware of.

    Press on,
    N

  4. February 6, 2006 8:22 am

    Unique blog my friend, I can hardly wait to vist
    this site again. I just worship the site its comes
    from! Believe me in my extra time I’m consistently
    looking up blogs like this.
    Stop by and look at my nh new hampshire house cleaning blog site.

Leave a Reply

