Skip to content

The Meeting

August 15, 2005

Thank all of you who let me know you were praying for the meeting this past Saturday. The meeting was LONG! It really didn’t need to be.

There were 40 people in attendance when the board consists of 15. It was also the first meeting I have ever been to that all board members were in attendance. Obviously people had been politicking and bringing “backup”.

It repulsed me to the point of I was angry the entire meeting. Not something I am proud of, but it’s the truth. One actual board member who has been to one meeting in two years dominated the discussion. He called for things that he did not get. But he was more gracious than I had feared.

When it was all said and done we pretty much pulled a good Church of Christ agreement. Something akin to Speak where the Bible speaks and be silent where the Bible is silent.

No motion or rule was passed regarding vocal percussion or clapping.

Regarding women’s roles there was no rule made but an agreement to follow 1 Timothy 2:12, whatever that might be interpreted as meaning.

And as you might expect the sacred cow of musical instruments met with a rule. There will be no mechanical instrumental music used live or recorded with a spiritual song, whether in worship or not. I objected that I didn’t know what the crap “in worship or not meant”. I think I may have actually said crap… but since I keep the minutes it will not be in them. I actually did know, because someone had just said that “you could do things in the gazebo [where we were meeting] but when you are down in the worship pavilion…”

I believe I will build an arc of the covenant to place in the “worship pavilion”. God must be tired of standing.

I bit my tongue mostly. I did burst out at a preacher who suggested that we just need to keep doing the things that we have ALWAYS done. We just need to follow our traditions at this camp. And we should honor them [the traditions]. I said something to the affect of that I objected to any such motion because it sounds like you are saying we don’t ever need to think about any of these things, they have all been figured out for you, don’t question them….. drink the kool aid, it will be OK.

Everyone else seemed to think it went better than expected. No one yelled or acted ugly. No one threatened anyone in any way.

I did learn of one minister who spent his time sitting on the steps and praying for us during the entire meeting…. I love that man!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2005 3:06 pm

    Yay for the prayer minister!

    Thanks for the report, Thomas. Many of us were interested.

    It is amazing what things we can come up with when we want to prominently promote our own positions above others.I’m glad no one had big turbulence over any of it.

  2. August 15, 2005 4:20 pm

    **heavy sigh***

    But I am grateful that no one yelled or acted ugly.

  3. August 15, 2005 4:46 pm

    So I went and looked up I Timothy 2:12, just to make sure I knew what I was talking about.

    I am curious, are there women trying to take over the place?

    I like how The Message puts it:

    12They should study to be quiet and obedient along with everyone else.

    Anyway, I am glad you were there. I am glad there was a praying preacher. Peace, be with that preacher.

  4. August 15, 2005 7:52 pm

    I grieve for you and all who are trapped in those kind of struggles. I used to be just to the right of Atilla the Hun but God was gracious and allowed me to live and learn. May He be so gracious to the hardliners at the meeting.

  5. August 16, 2005 9:05 am

    I Cor. 11:19 “No doubt there have to be differences among you to show which of you have God’s approval.” I am not always sure how this works, but I am confident He is working in it. God Bless Brother.

  6. August 16, 2005 12:23 pm

    So … if the camp was ever rented to the local Boy Scouts, would the same rules apply?

    I’m glad you kept your temper and your faith.

  7. August 16, 2005 5:52 pm

    I read your post about THE meeting yesterday, but haven’t had the chance to respond to it until now. But, I want to say I’m very proud of you for doing so well, personally, because it sounds like you really followed the Biblical admonition to “be angry and sin not.” Very well done!

    Although, I don’t know if I would have done so well, myself, and I’m certainly not a person prone to anger or outbursts of any kind.

    Keep praying about it and get to be friends with the praying minister. He sounds like the kind of friend to have and may deserve a place on the board.

  8. August 16, 2005 11:26 pm

    Glad you kept your composure and your calm.

    We have to extend grace to all, even the legalistic ones and just love them.

    Thanks for the report!

  9. August 22, 2005 10:35 pm

    YOu almost made me spit out my coffee about the “God must be tired of standing” comment!

    Ha!

    Don’t drink the Kool Aid!

    Best,
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

