Skip to content

Gas is high here but….20 cats for a full tank

September 13, 2005


I know that gas prices are getting higher and higher. Except of course for one station here in town that has frozen their prices to pre Katrina. I don’t know how they are doing it but they are and I will buy from them forever!

But I don’t think I am ready for this alternative

Inventor turns dead cats into diesel

A German inventor says he’s found a way to make cheap diesel fuel out of dead cats.

Dr Christian Koch, 55, from Kleinhartmannsdorf, said his method uses old tyres, weeds and animal cadavers.

They are heated up to 300 Celsius to filter out hydrocarbon which is then turned into diesel by a catalytic converter.

He said the resulting “high quality bio-diesel” costs just 15 pence per litre.

Koch said the cadaver of a fully grown cat can produce 2.5 litres of fuel – meaning around 20 cats are needed for a full tank.

He said: “I tank my car with my own diesel mixture and have driven it for 105,000 miles without any problems.”

Annelise Krauss of the Dresden Animal Protection Association blasted Koch’s new diesel though, saying: “This is as bad as experimenting on animals.”

I think this one might fill a tank!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2005 12:56 pm

    Well, I can Snope out the big kitty photo at the bottom, but I think you were intentionally pulling our leg on that one! (Plus you can tell it’s been PhotoShopped – the lighting on the guy holding the cat is from the window on his left; the lighting on the cat is from above. And in the other photo, the lighting on the gun is from above; the cat is lit by the camera flash. Picky, picky …)

    But I can’t verify or debunk the news story!

    I’d bet it will turn up on Snopes.com pretty soon … one way or the other.

  2. September 13, 2005 1:06 pm

    It is ALWAYS great to have Keith arround to comment. I didn’t alter the photos at all.. That guy is about to shoot that cat, and I think it is possible for a cat to weigh in excess of 100 pounds!

    Next we will photoshop Keith’s picture!

  3. September 13, 2005 5:00 pm

    I think if we could make this work on dead opossums…Cullman Alabama might be the new middle east!!!

    Keith, what you have never seen a cat that big???

  4. September 13, 2005 10:17 pm

    I don’t know whether or not the story is true. But, the story (true or no) and the pictures (altered or no) sure did make me laugh.

    In fact, I shared this story with some people at work, laughed a bit too hard, and got into trouble. After a long, awkward silence, one lady–a cat lover–admitted that she didn’t think this was funny. But, she said, “If you use racoons instead of cats, it’s hilarious.”

  5. September 13, 2005 10:49 pm

    A “CATalytic converter?” Right.

    Yes!

    Make Keith have a Grateful Dead tattoo or something. A mohawk?

    I better shut up. I may have my own photo up soon…

  6. September 15, 2005 7:46 am

    This post has been removed by the author.

  7. September 15, 2005 7:47 am

    Cat -astrophe!

  8. September 15, 2005 10:32 am

    I HAVE a cat that big! Well, almost.

    Hey, the photo on my blog is like 15 years old. Go crazy with it!

    Now I look like a goofy old man, rather than a goofy young man.

  9. September 15, 2005 12:44 pm

    Ughhh… your email is not on your profile! I’m in charge of a project for Hurricane Katrina relief. I’m looking at some local projects but was wondering if there is something we could do that could be shipped to your group. Let me know.

  10. February 6, 2006 11:55 am

    Irresistible blog. I look for blogs like this one
    when time allows me to. I enjoyed the site and I’ll
    check it next time!
    Want to see top notch work, peep my ky kentucky house cleaning blog site for the bomb work!

Leave a Reply

