Skip to content

Flying Crap!

September 26, 2005


Rita spawned a tornado that we experienced yesterday.

The tornado hit south west of campus and made a bee line across campus toward … you guessed it… Trailer park. Our church’s building laid in between. Workers were there having just unloaded a load of supplies for Hurricane victims when the damage occurred. Last night was our monthly all life groups meet together at the building Sunday. We don’t have a clever name for it. It was canceled as we had no power, doors and windows out and water pouring in from the section of missing roofing.

But this is the best quote I have seen. Usually you get the woman saying it sounded like a traaaainnnnn. And about looking up and seeing Martha Jean’s trailer overhead and thinking, “Martha Jean still has my crock pot”. This was in our local paper this morning:

The twister picked up one young couple’s mobile home, flipped it and dropped it on another and then knocked the mobile home of MSU students Jacob Tanner of Grenada and Daniel Bozonne of Arkansas into a tree.

“My stepfather called me and told me to watch the weather because of what he’d seen on TV,” said Tanner. “I looked outside twice. The second time, I saw the cloud and debris.”

“There was crap flying everywhere,” said Bozonne.

Flying Crap! couldn’t have said it better Mr. Bozonne.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2005 2:18 pm

    I thought the really “good interviewies” were an Alabama speciality. I see that Mississippi shares in our the blessing.

    Sorry to hear of so much destruction. I hope you all can recover quickly. I know there are many people counting on the good work you all are doing.

  2. September 26, 2005 5:24 pm

    After the Joppa (pronounced Joppy here in Alabama)tornado, one man was heard saying, “It sounded like a real bad freight train.”

    Real bad freight train? As opposed to…

  3. September 26, 2005 8:00 pm

    Wow! Sorry you all had to go through all of that. It’s bad enough that it’s happened to all of us down here. We really need y’all’s help and sure don’t want anything bad to happen up there.

    Hope you are doing well. I’ve been “reading,” but just haven’t had much time to comment lately. But I am keeping you all in my prayers as you continue to come down to help everyone out down here. The need is great and will be for a very long time. Much longer than anyone outside “the zone” will want to help, I’m so afraid. I sure hope not.

    We may end up being the voice “in the wilderness.” God will richly bless all of you who offer so much help. Thanks! That’s from me, but believe me, everyone says “Thanks!”

    Love to you all,

    Dee

Leave a Reply

