Skip to content

No time for the turtle

October 7, 2005

I have not had time to post about the turtle. Dee made a great comment about what if the turtle had been boxed in some way that limited his growth. So here you have square watermelons. Nice and convenient.

A couple of quick thoughts:

I think mankind has limited, damaged, stunted the church from what it was / is meant to be. Cutting the band off will not bring healing or restoration. But the turtle can still reproduce, take its seed and start a new life. A new wineskin.

Dee also asked “Do you think that that applies to people, too? That some of us can be so damaged at some point in our lives (probably when we are very young, as was obviously the case with our poor friend the turtle) that we cannot recover? Or recover in any meaningful and/or healthy way?”

My experience with that is even though I thought I had overcome/ healed from damage of my youth, I had not. It was ONLY when I specifically invited Jesus to come in some real way into my heart and heal me, that healing happened. In one sense I was re-born when I was 18 in another sense I was not my new self until I was 36.

______________________________

Leading a team to the coast this weekend. We will see JD and the folks at Central. Roofing, sheetrock, gutting, cooking and distribution of food and supplies are in order. Will tell of God’s hand when when we return. Please pray for His kingdom to rule over us as we travel and give to those in need.

Blessings to all of you at Zoe this weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2005 3:52 pm

    Greeting from Music City. Tell JD hello from me. I hope you have a productive weekend. I hope my schedule will allow me to go there soon as well.

    Blessings to you.

  2. October 10, 2005 8:44 am

    Never thought I would see a square watermellon. So sad about that turtle, too. Good lessons.

    I’d like you to take the challenge and answer the questions to my “23rd Post” meme… here’s the link:

    http://sbees.blogspot.com/2005/10/23rd-post.html–>

Leave a Reply

