Skip to content

If we are the Body?

October 17, 2005

The concert was very good Saturday night. It did make staying up to finish a lesson for the next day hard.

If you go to one (Donna and Terri) there are ones coming up in B-ham and H-ville. Wear ear plugs for Building 429 or show up about 20 minutes late. They were LOUD. Yes that made me feel old. I could feel my shirt move (literally) each time the bass drum was hit. I love their album… couldn’t understand much at the concert.

Casting Crowns was another story. Seen them before…and again very humble, pointed EVERYTHING to God. Came in their words not to give a concert but to Worship Together. They played much more old stuff than I expected. I wish Mark had given his “Testimony”. It is very powerful, It is on the “Casting Crowns” DVD if you see one it is worth buying to hear that alone.

Funny note: A friend who is a youth minister at a CofC was about 7 or 8 rows behind us and threatend to take a picture with our hands raised. I told him let me know and I will smile too.

Tony Nolan was the “inspirational speaker” kind of geared for a 13 year old, I think, Everybody is a sinner, everbody needs Jesus, Pray with me, now stand up now go to a volenteer… you get the picture. We had some interesting conversations out of that on the way home.

________

+ Now for a question. We had an unusually good time of Woship yesterday.. planned by our youth minister. At the closing prayer an older man worded the prayer and said, “We pray that our worship has been pleasing and acceptable to you”. A phrase I have heard 100’s or 1000’s of times.

Can you REALLY Worship God and it not be pleasing to him? Can you really be worshiping him and it not be something he likes? Now I know you can do something that is not worship and call it worship when it something else… even idolotry, maybe. What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2005 5:47 pm

    I’m no authority on worship, by any means, but I’ve heard that prayer in the range of times that you estimate, too. It may just be a phrase that seems necessary – a kind of “CYA” thing (that’s “Cover Your Adjuration”), but I have to wonder with you ….

    I know God can’t be pleased when I honor Him with my lips but my heart is far from Him.

    (But isn’t it a little late to pray about that at the end of the service?)

    And be careful asking questions like “Can you really be worshiping him and it not be something he likes?”

    That ‘un is loaded for bear!

  2. October 17, 2005 9:35 pm

    I too thought of God’s displeasure with the Isrealites when they were “going through the motions”. If we are worshipping from the heart I think that God is pleased. If we do everything “right” but our hearts are disengaged, I think he is upset.

    But I am with Keith, at the end of the assembly “It’s a little too late to do the right thing now”.

  3. October 18, 2005 11:00 pm

    I can’t answer your question, Tommy, because it’s late at night and I can no longer THINK today! But just wanted you to know that I’ve been reading y’all all along as I’ve had time, but just haven’t had the time to comment like you know that I love to do.

    I keep hoping things will get just a little bit “back to normal,” but I see no signs of that yet. What an ordeal. Makes the 3 1/2 months confined to the computer and sofa with my foot propped up seem very minor. Like nothing.

    All I can say is that it’s a good thing that we don’t know what life holds for us ahead of just today, one day at a time. Otherwise, we would never be able to bear it. Never.

    Thus, I thank God for every day that I have here on earth and all of His blessings He drops in so generously day by day during all the trials.

  4. October 20, 2005 7:52 pm

    That sounds like a cool concert!!

  5. February 6, 2006 9:48 am

    I peep the web for blogs just like this one.
    Airtight blog. Your site was off the chain and I will
    return!
    I know that you love my work so, look up my wi wisconsin house cleaning blog.

Leave a Reply

