Skip to content

a tough tuesday

October 25, 2005

+ The day started with another round of being awakened at 2:30 with a 5 year old covered in vomit.

+ The contractor building my mother-in-law’s house told me that he would not be finished when promised.

+ Then a always fun walk thru of a building with the local code officials

+ Then a client of mine made some very upsetting comments that left me concerned all day.

+ Then about 4pm I learned that my Great Aunt Rachel Whaley died. My heart aches with this loss. She was an amazing woman! Godly. I will try to write a more fitting tribute to my double Aunt. She and her husband Tommy were my double Great Aunt and Uncle. (they were the brother and sister of my Grandmother and Grandfather… that’s right, two brothers and sisters married. My grandmother became a Stewart and Aunt Rachel became a Whaley. All three of our boys had been destined to be a Rachel if they had turned out to be girls. I will miss much about her.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2005 6:52 pm

    Tommy –

    I was just thinking about you and wondering how you were doing. I had no idea why, but you were heavy on my mind and NOW I know why. I’m SO sorry you’ve had such a stressful and sad day.

    Where did your aunt Rachel live? In Tennessee?

    I’ve always loved that name, too, and if my third child, Mark, had been a girl I was going to name him Rachel. But, instead, I named him Mark Austin O’Neil after my little brother, Mark, who had died so young and Mark’s grandad and great-grandad, both Austin O’Neil, Sr. (a very real Texas Ranger!) and Jr.

    Now, I will be thinking even more of you and your family and praying for you all in your aunt’s death.

    I look forward to your tribute, when you have time to write it. Meanwhile, take care.

  2. October 25, 2005 7:30 pm

    Ahhh, so you really do understand the whole “double cousin” thing.

    I am sorry for your loss and for your tough day. I was commenting on someone’s blog today how as more and more people I knew were in Heaven it made it easier to long to go there myself. It is a peaceful feeling to know that even while you suffer loss, she is having a wonderful time!

  3. October 25, 2005 7:40 pm

    God is close to the broken-hearted.

    So sorry.

    Nancy

  4. October 25, 2005 10:16 pm

    Tommy,
    I am sorry about the passing of your dear aunt Rachel.
    God loves you and knows your hurt.

  5. October 26, 2005 12:53 pm

    So sorry to hear of your loss. The following song has meant so much to me in the past when loved ones have gone to be with the Lord. Hope it will bless you as well.

    Our Prayers have all been answered
    I finally arrived
    The healing that had been delayed
    Has now been realized
    No one’s in a hurry
    There’s no schedule to keep
    We’re all enjoying Jesus
    Just sitting at His feet

    If you could see me now
    I’m walking streets of gold
    If you could see me now
    I’m standing tall and whole
    If you could see me now
    You’d know I’ve seen His face
    If you could see me now
    You’d know the pain’s erased

    You wouldn’t want me to ever
    leave this place
    If you could only see me now

    My light and temporary trials
    Have worked out for my good
    To know it brought Him glory
    When I misunderstood
    Though we’ve had our sorrows
    They can never compare
    What Jesus has in store for us
    No language can share

    If you could see me now
    I’m walking streets of gold
    If you could see me now
    I’m standing tall and whole
    If you could see me now
    You’d know I’ve seen His face
    If you could see me now
    You’d know the pain’s erased

    If you could see me now
    I’m walking streets of gold
    If you could see me now
    I’m standing tall and whole
    If you could see me now
    You’d know I’ve seen His face
    If you could see me now
    You’d know the pain’s erased

    You wouldn’t want me to ever
    leave this perfect place
    If you could only see me now

    If you could see me now
    If only you could see me now

  6. February 6, 2006 9:00 am

    Enchanting blog. Your site was off the chain and I
    will return! I peep the web for blogs just like this
    one.
    I wish I was like you, but I’ll go and peep your wa washington house cleaning blog.

Leave a Reply

