Skip to content

weekend wrap up

November 14, 2005

Not that any of my posts are ever clever or well crafted. I have never claimed to be a writer. But I wanted to get down a few thoughts before they were replaced by others.

+ Went to Pascagoula this weekend. Kim and the boys went to visit her sister’s family in Nashville. I was feeling a little sorry for myself for going alone this weekend. I could have gone along with the youth group going to Picayune but felt I needed to go see JD. Then it came to me (a God thing) that I am never alone as long as I am walking with Him.

+ Worked on JD’s house. I really felt it should have been finished by now, so that he could have one less thing to worry about. Got to meet his great family! Maggie as JD calls her was so nice to talk to, you would never know that this woman and her family had been forced to live in a little camper for 10 weeks.

+ Sunday morning I woke them all up with some work I wanted to get finished before I left. Just enough time to complete it and head over to the building for worship. Wow, The Spirit was at work in this place. They walk humbly with their gentleness evident to all (See Philippians 4) JD spoke on Hebrews 11 about the faith of these people who were “Certain” about things that they could not see. In their uncertain times God used JD to speak his message of walk with me and I will be faithful and true. I sat in tears at my own lack of faith at times, at my ability to see how God had walked before me so many times clearing my path and making it straight. Two sisters came forward asking for prayers. One is a grandmother who is raising her grandson 17. They help cook meals for the workers. They had a tough week. John went and got her grandson to come sit by her. I was again struck by tears at the ministering of that act. Not worrying about what anyone might think, but simply being family. I could go on and on. I wish that sermon was on line. You would be blessed to hear it. John may not be skilled with a skill saw ( sorry JD) but he is talented at presenting God’s word. At delivering comfort and hope to those in need of both.

+ I had a surprise on the way home John called and said that Dee Andrews wanted me to call her. I didn’t have Dee’s number but when I got to work this morning she had left a message. So good to have a voice to put with someone. Anyway I called and I guess we talked for an hour and a half. It is strange the way that God works. It has not been that long ago that I meet Dee in this blog world and JD warned me that she was a popcorn nazi. I now feel a connection to these two that is so beyond “posts”. God is and has been at work in Dee’s life in so many ways. I don’t know the cause of our talking on the phone for the first time, (some of it I do) but I am sure that God has deeper and more reasons for this occurrence. So good to talk to you Dee! Way better than blogging.

+ Dee and JD and David Kilbern at Pascagoula all deserve a post at Grace Notes. Maybe somebody will write one.

+ Today started off as a great struggle. I look forward to the rest of the day being great. Jesus is in his rightful place and I choose to live in and under his Kingdom. It is his will that will guide the rest of the day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2005 5:12 pm

    I wonder if JD realizes how God had him in place for this. It is amazing to see His hand in all of it. I am so looking forward to my trip on Wednesday!!

  2. November 14, 2005 5:59 pm

    I hope your day got brighter! And it’s great you were able to go help out a fellow blogger this weekend.

    It’s nice to know I have friends like you who would come rebuild my house if whatever hits Middle Tennessee hits me!

  3. November 14, 2005 6:25 pm

    Tommy – It is 6 p.m. straight up and I am just now getting on the internet for the first time today to check out all my “bloggin’ buddies'” blogs and started with yours.

    You are such a wonderful, deep, true young man – maturing Christian – that I feel as if you are one of my own sons (which is a great compliment, in case you’re wondering!)

    I agree with you that God has greater plans for us than just a “first time” phone call. I don’t know what it is, it is still a “surprise” to me, just as you were surprised by John calling you to tell you I’d called you to talk on Friday, but I know He is true and good and loving to us all who try to our utmost to follow Him.

    And I know that He works ALL things together for His good when we are “called according to His purpose,” as Paul tells us in Romans 8:28, even when things are the blackest in our lives and we don’t have any glimmer of light at all within our vision.

    Thanks for your kind words in your post of today.

    As far as you ending your post with how you were choosing to live the rest of your day after we talked – that phrase coincides completely with something I wrote to you late this afternoon in an email concerning our talk together way before I came here to read your post.

    Coincidence? I don’t think so. God is SO good to us, His children all the time. So good. I am more and more amazed the longer I live at how good He is as our father. Even in all our weaknesses and failings.

    I only hope to be able to express even a small fraction of that magnificent love to all others around me. That would be light enough so as to be blinding in this world of darkness.

    Godspeed.

  4. November 15, 2005 9:17 am

    Omigosh, you got to talk to THE Dee Andrews? I didn’t know she was a popcorn nazi, but I did know she really likes Alf…

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

