Skip to content

Good News is Coming

November 29, 2005

This thought starts with the previous post The Beginning of our great future.

God’s people who share an attitude that year in and year out, when people see us, they know that good news is coming, that help is near, that love is plentiful, that all are accepted!

The truth is that I don’t think people see my congregation that way or me for that matter. Although I am compelled to grow in that direction personally.

How does a church, a gathering of people in the name of Jesus, live in such a way?

One way is to see ourselves as missional. Much has been written and said about this in the recent past, but it is that we find our purpose in the mission of Jesus. Sounds good. So what is Jesus’ mission?

One place to start is Luke 4. Jesus at the beginning of his public ministry reads from Isaiah 61. He says,

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to release the oppressed,
19to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Now, I guess he could have chose any of hundreds of prophesies about him to read, my guess is that God orchestrated that Isaiah was the scroll of the day.

I have to remind myself that Hebrews were not Greeks. {I am not talking about fraternities}. I mean that they were more poets than logical scientific writers. Yes, Jesus healed people who could not see physically, but that was the sermon illustration. Not the sermon itself. He is talking about a higher mission. To bring the good news is to bring God’s riches to the poor, to set people free (at this time it seemed a lot of people were prisoners of a very religious system) to give the ability to see Jesus to those who can’t see him, to bring healing to those who are depressed, to tell people that God loves them right now, just like they are.

What does that look like though? How does it take flesh in a church? That will be the next post.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2005 11:31 am

    I’m anxious to hear what you have to say about that. I’ve got a lot of thoughts on that, myself, but want to hear yours first.

    I like the shirt. Where can I order one? I couldn’t find your order page with the price (and there’s always a price!), all the order information and all the credit card stuff.

  2. November 29, 2005 12:45 pm

    {waiting with baited breath…}

  3. November 29, 2005 10:06 pm

    Good observations… and a cliff hanger!

  4. November 29, 2005 10:07 pm

    DJG,

    It’s “bated” breath I think — from the word “abate.”

    Sorry, the English major in me is perking up.
    Nancy

  5. November 29, 2005 11:07 pm

    Naw, it’s baited. Thomas has baited us.

  6. November 30, 2005 3:19 pm

    Yes thanks Fajita, and it was in sarcastic quotation marks { } which meant I knew I was using the wrong word…but thanks!

Leave a Reply

