Skip to content

The Parable of the Shampoo

December 12, 2005

Kim buys our shampoo, she buys cheap stuff to save us money, they all get your hair clean.. right. Well I hate the stuff. First thing in the morning for 365 days a year I meet the day with a fragrance that says, “hey there” in a droning moapy voice. I want to the good stuff… not that outrageously priced stuff that fools buy at the hair salon. Suckers! But at least middle of the road wal-mart, or even the occasional bath and body works fragerence…. Am I starting to sound girly… No, I just want more. Well yesterday was one of the good days. The End of The Bottle. I throw it out of the shower empty in hope (by now I really shouldn’t expect better) of the new bottle will be better.

This morning I open the shower door, turn on the water and there to greet me is a new bottle, my wife has already supplied the new bottle. It’s the same kind of shampoo as the old bottle, only it sports a red badge “50% More”. Great, half again as many days of this stuff before the hopes of a new kind.

See if you can figure it out?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2005 4:39 pm

    Have you told Kim Kringle what you want for Christmas?

  2. December 12, 2005 5:43 pm

    You girl! I go for the .97 White Rain! I might splurge and get Suave Lavender conditioner once in a blue moon.

    Now face moisturizer… you gotta splurge.

  3. December 12, 2005 6:22 pm

    There are some things in life that absolutely not worth buying cheap and suffering over (and I have no doubt you are truly suffering in one of the worst ways – that horrible smell of something cheap, as in certain perfumes, hand lotion, body lotion, shampoo, hair spray, hand soap, room “fresheners,” CAR fresheners (the all time worst, I’m convinced) – you know – the little “green tree” hanging on the rearview mirror kind).

    Look – in the morning after you get your shower, grab the shampoo and chunk it in the trash can or sneak it out, if you have to, in a plain brown paper bag, to throw away somewhere and run by Wal-Mart and pick up a – no two – super big (like we use) purple bottle(s) of Aussie shampoo of one variety or another. We use the one for “dry” hair, I think. Not only does it smell really good, it’s inexpensive and lasts a long time and I ALWAYS keep a spare bottle on hand.

    I would “run” in the bathroom to check it out to make sure the exact “title,” but as you well know, I’m confined here at my desk in front of my computer once again with this miserable broken left foot in a cast. So, you’ll have to pick out the closest one to what I’m describing.

    But, believe me, you’ll like it and not go back to anything else. Tom and I have been using nothing else for several years now.

    Life’s way too short, Tommy, to have to smell yucky and overpowering smells every morning of your life. I’m serious here. (As one of my young friends used to say – have no idea where they got it – “I’m serious as a heart attack!”)

    I’ve even spent time in a hospital in ICU for days on end fighting (among other things) nausea that was so encompassing and aggressive that the slightest smell triggered it horribly. After you’ve been through something like that you KNOW, without a doubt, that there much is more to life than trying to be so frugal as to only buy the cheapest of everything. It is NOT worth it.

    If it will help, we’ll all chip in and give you enough “loot” to go get yourself some for Christmas. In fact, email me your address and I’ll Kringle you some shampoo for Christmas myself!

    Cheers!

    Dee

  4. December 12, 2005 7:24 pm

    It happens to me with the start of a new program or sometimes a class. I get so excited I just know that this time it will be the “smell” I love. But NOOOOO! It is the same old thing dressed up in a “new and improved” wrapper, sucking the life out of me when all I can think is “Man, I just want something different”.

    {but, if you are really talking about shampoo, I can compromise on shampoo if I buy good conditioner, it last a lot longer and the smell stays with you….}

  5. December 12, 2005 9:29 pm

    Okay.

    If you want the point or lesson of the “parable,” the advice is the same.

    Life is too short to spend every day of your life settling for the cheapest or poorest or most imperfect of ANYTHING. Period.

    So go out and seek and find the better, even if you don’t know quite what’s out there to choose from.

    I really don’t believe we are called to endure and/or persevere and/or be totally miserable throughout every day of our entire lives when we have the means and and the ability to make a change, even though it may mean stepping out into unknown waters (perhaps like Peter in the boat when he makes that leap into the sea).

    I say this in the context of what you wrote, things that serve some function in our lives that is not of the greatest importance, but a grand annoyance that we have the capability to do something about very easily. Now, if you’re talking about things of much more importance to our lives, well, we’ll have to talk about that in greater detail to find the “lesson” of the parable there.

    Any help here at all?

  6. December 12, 2005 9:51 pm

    “More of the same ain’t necessarily better.” That’s the principle I’m seeing.

    (But not real clearly; I got soap in my eyes.)

  7. December 13, 2005 7:30 am

    As I applied the cheap shampoo and conditioner this morning, I thought of you.

    Could it be that some people don’t feel worthy of $9 shampoo (blessing)?

    Could it just be that we all were created differently and are allowed to choose our own shampoo(blessing)?

    Could it be that I just choose to be chintzy with some things so that I can be extravagant with other things?

    I don’t know but it ALL burns your eyes!

  8. December 13, 2005 10:02 am

    Whoa, good thoughts… Keep them coming. You will all probably have better meanings than I will.

    You do all have “ears to hear” because your all around it.

    Terri you should change that to “I thought of your parable” this blog is rated PG. Just kidding.

    The big bottle was still there this morning. I thought of pouring some extra down the drain, but didn’t.

  9. December 13, 2005 2:37 pm

    Awwh, Tommy –

    In re: “The big bottle was still there this morning. I thought of pouring some extra down the drain, but didn’t.”

    I’d say: “No guts, no glory.”

    As for the “true” meaning of the parable of the shampoo, we’re now waiting expectantly for your renowned and profound and marvelous life lesson for us, waiting here, still, with these “ears to hear.”

    But you’d better not give us a visual demonstration to go with it in PowerPoint or some such because as Keith so aptly points out, we’re sitting around with soap in our eyes!

Leave a Reply

