Skip to content

Tonight we go door to door

December 19, 2005

Tonight we go caroling. I am not sure who is coming, but in the past it has been three families at the core. I doubt one of them will be with us this year. We have invited a lot of others, but that original group will be missed.

We will go to some “older” members homes and huddle together for warmth, try not to touch anything metal, and sing a few songs. We always end on “We wish you a Merry Christmas”.

Very muched enjoyed getting to visit some this weekend with JD. As I mentioned Sunday he said he would hate to read the sermon I would write for my preacher to preach. I am not sure what he meant by that. Maybe that I would have a lot to say and it might be pointed. JD is Such a great guy! He has a great family too!

Tommorrow night we are having (sushh…. don’t tell everybody) a birthday party for Jesus for the kids and a time of worship at our house. The group from caroling will be back together for this.

The week got a lot less hecktic with some work related dates changing till after the first of the year… WHew!

Later in the week we will make a trek to Tennessee and back before Christmas. For 2 weeks now, Caleb has told me EVERY night in bed that, “I can’t wait till its Christmas”. Last night he said, “I think its harder to wait the closer it gets”. Bless his beautiful heart. Nothing but good memories of Christmas. May they always outnumber his disappointments.

I will try tommorrow to share our worship plan.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2005 9:14 pm

    Next thing you know, y’all will be singing off those big screens and will have thrown away all the Sacred Selection books…

  2. December 19, 2005 10:23 pm

    Where do you go in Tennessee?

  3. December 19, 2005 11:09 pm

    Hey, Tommy –

    Sorry to be dropping by so late, but have been tied down and confined life seems to be extremely busy. I don’t know WHAT I will do when I get back on both feet to run around. Or maybe not – this scooter is getting very addictive very fast!

    You should have seen me in Super Wal-Mart yesterday – I nearly ran over a poor guy in front of me who jumped to his left at the last second. Now Tom is really worried because he’s thinking he’s going to HAVE to take out some liability insurance for when I run over my first pedestrian.

    Oh well . . .

    Hope you all have a great time caroliing. Wish I could be there to sing alto with you – or tenor – my voice keeps getting lower and lower and half the time in worship I have to sing tenor in our four part harmony acapella singing I love so much and am partial to. Although I’m sitting here listening to “Il Divo” – my current favorite guys (all young, handsome and extraordinarily talented tenors) singing Christmas songs with LOTS of orchestra music in the background.

    Drop by before you leave for Tennessee. And I’m glad you got some work schedules changed to later. You know, isn’t it that way every year – people get to this last holiday week before Christmas and it’s like everything else can just wait for now so we can party and enjoy ourselves a bit.

    Take care. And, cheers! (But keep praying for Tom who is still fighting those 16 hour and more days six days a week. Saturday he went to work about 8 a.m. and didn’t get home until 5:30 a.m. Sunday morning! Then we had to run around half the day trying to catch up on groceries, etc, doing laundery – it’s been awful for him.

  4. December 20, 2005 10:06 am

    Donna,
    I grew up in the giant metropolis of Middleton. Home of NBA Hall of Famer – Bailey Howell,and once poster child of the far right of the cofc now turned to their whipping boy Ruble Shelly. All that and ME from a town of 600 people.

    Dee,
    I would love to see you chasing people down in Wal-Mart. I laugh now as I can see people diving into the aisles to avoid you with your white racing stripes. Maybe you could get some flame stickers to put on it.

  5. December 20, 2005 1:49 pm

    Oh, I was just thinking if it was a more eastern part of TN you could stop by Cullman on your way!!

    Have a good trip anyway!

    {I think there might be something in that water…you and Rubel!!}

Leave a Reply

