Skip to content

I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts

December 20, 2005

I was reading this passage in Ephesians this weekend in the NLT and thought it particually beautiful in this translation. It is the first version. The second is from The Message. Which do you prefer?

It is such a beautiful prayer. I wish it for all of you who come by. All two of you, you know who you are!


14
When I think of the wisdom and scope of God’s plan, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, F4 15the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. 16I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will give you mighty inner strength through his Holy Spirit. 17And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts as you trust in him. May your roots go down deep into the soil of God’s marvelous love. 18And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love really is. 19May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you will never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

20Now glory be to God! By his mighty power at work within us, he is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. 21May he be given glory in the church and in Christ Jesus forever and ever through endless ages. Amen.

14My response is to get down on my knees before the Father, 15this magnificent Father who parcels out all heaven and earth. 16I ask him to strengthen you by his Spirit–not a brute strength but a glorious inner strength–17that Christ will live in you as you open the door and invite him in. And I ask him that with both feet planted firmly on love, 18you’ll be able to take in with all Christians the extravagant dimensions of Christ’s love. Reach out and experience the breadth! Test its length! Plumb the depths! Rise to the heights! 19Live full lives, full in the fullness of God.

20God can do anything, you know–far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

21Glory to God in the church!
Glory to God in the Messiah, in Jesus!
Glory down all the generations!
Glory through all millennia! Oh, yes!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2005 4:18 pm

    My initial reaction is that I like the NLT version here….maybe because it is familiar and gives me so much comfort. Somehow “more than I can ever dare to ask or hope” just speaks volumes to me!

  2. December 20, 2005 4:19 pm

    Yes, this is such a beautiful thought.

  3. December 21, 2005 10:38 am

    I really love the NLT. I am giving it this year for Christmas gifts.

  4. December 21, 2005 12:42 pm

    I like it no matter how you say it. It’s so nice to be loved!

  5. December 21, 2005 2:59 pm

    I like the first version MUCH better. I have not yet heard or read anything from “The Message” that I’ve liked at all. I don’t think it’s accurate in a lot of places, mainly.

    I love the passage, though. I’ve always especially loved the idea that God is able to accomplish “infinitely” more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. How marvelous is that?!

  6. December 21, 2005 3:04 pm

    dee,
    I like the message generally. But you have to take it for what it is. It is a paraphrase and not a translation. I have heard that it was started orginally as a way to put the bible in an easy language for his 8 year old.

    Kim has had a NLT for about a year, I had never really read any out of it, and find it to read very beautifully.

  7. December 21, 2005 5:27 pm

    Thanks for this. I needed it today, whichever translation!

Leave a Reply

