Skip to content

Systemization

January 6, 2006

Wrong is a bit of a tease. I didn’t see anything wrong with the bookcase. I have to give Amy points for her observation. I wonder does this look familiar to any of you? I had one of these in every classroom I can remember growing up. We referred to it and one other poster that I will post later in this series.

The problem with the book case is that it is a pure product of the modern construct. EVERYTHING has to be labeled, categorized, systematized. And so everything fits in these neat little categories.

You’ve got “Law” although that is not how the Jewish faith would have lumped those first 5. Then “history” hello, have you read some of that! Sure some history is recorded, but they were not written as a history book. I think you see my point.

I will talk a little about the history one as an example. When we read these books as a history we read over some amazing things and lose some amazing teachings. We approach the literature like we would any history book written in the last two centuries. It records facts. Yet many times these books may be using analogies and metaphors.

Its just an example of how we felt we could approach the text in the right way and it would produce the answers or maybe I should say THE Answer. Its like an incantation, say the right words in the right way and Hocus Pocus out comes the rabbit. (by the way did you know Hocus Pocus comes from the Latin recited during communion?)

Tonight is our 12th Night Party. Tommorrow is my own little birthday, Sunday is Elvis’

The other chart which I see as far more problematic next time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2006 4:20 pm

    I was going to say that….

    Actually I was thinking about the way we divide it up and teach it, like its all part of the Gospel.

    Looking forward to the next segment.

    Happy Birthday to you and Elvis!!

  2. January 6, 2006 5:13 pm

    Happy Birthday! If you see Elvis, ask him about Dale!

  3. January 6, 2006 8:25 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! And right after Christmas… I bet your parent’s sometimes wrapped your gifts in Santa Claus paper??

    🙂

  4. January 6, 2006 10:58 pm

    It’s nearly 11 p.m. and I’m just now getting around to your most recent post. Sorry about that. I was busy today and felt compelled to email my mom and think about my ersatz (well, grown)kids.

    But, Happy Birthday tomorrow, Jan. 7th. Yesterday – Jan. 5th – was my older son’s birthday and Dec. 19th was my mom’s. Bummer having a “nearly Christmas” birthday, isn’t it?!

    And, around here we know all about the 12th day parties because that’s when the Mardi Gras season starts in New Orleans. Today is also the day (or maybe it’s tomorrow, after 12th night) when they start selling the King Cakes, which is a big deal around here, if you’ve never had one.

    As for your Systemization post – I understand completely what you’re talking about and have a lot of problems with it, too. I started to comment on that yesterday, but let it pass.

    I can well guess what your next post on the subject will be, but will leave the uncertainties to you to divulge. After all, it’s YOUR blog.

    I knew about Elvis, too, just as I well know and remember the date of, and when I first heard of, his death. Some things are better left to the past, though, as we found out last summer (2004) when we first visited Graceland.

    Elvis was so wonderfully talented and gifted in his youth, but oh how fame was his undoing. Wish I could say more uplifting things about his later life and his home, but all I saw was deep sadness about all that had been so promising in his earlier life.

  5. January 7, 2006 9:27 am

    You!! And I sat there with it enlarged counting books, reading titles…aargh.

    Great post and Happy Birthday! And yes, the poster has that flannel-graph era look.

    Claire’s birthday is Monday. Just 28 minutes separated hers from Elvis’. She was born in Memphis the year the city celebrated (mourned?) the 20th anniversary of his death. There were hoards of folks in town and all over the news and there I was in labor. Whew!

  6. January 8, 2006 7:35 pm

    (Getting in on the conversation late because of an overbooked weekend)

    … Yeah, like, there’s a little bit of gospel in Acts where Paul recounts a saying of Christ not found elsewhere, plus a little bit of it in I Corinthians where he recounts some of the dialog at the Last Supper. Revelation has seven epistles; it’s not just prophecy. Hebrews is heavy on history even if it is an epistle.

    And almost all of it, one way or another, points to Christ!

    Happy nuther-year-older-and-deeper-in-thought!

Leave a Reply

