Skip to content

my mystery shelf

January 13, 2006

Keith and Dee had some great exceptions. Nancy, if you had just quit being entertained and come to church with me you would have learned how to show those Hernderson folks a thing or two.

You, know “Rightly Dividing the Word” is deserving of its own series.

The problem with these “false” divisions are that they limit our understanding. Its a way of labeling where complex and dynamic and alive things get reduced to something thin and lifeless. We do that with people all the time. Dee mentioned one that I want to amplify a bit.

God has always spoke to people through dreams. There are examples of it all over the place. Why do you think those people listened? Why did they not think, “God doesn’t talk to people in dreams”? I don’t believe that you can control your dreams, but my wife had one last night that really disturbed and scared her. We spent a long while in the middle of the night praying because of it. I woke up a few hours later screaming at what I can’t remember seeing but what I can only describe as a spirit of fear that was pulling at me. I thought I was sliding onto the floor and thought I had woke up, I was yelling “Leave” over and over, I finally woke still in the bed but yelling “Leave”. Overactive imagination? I can’t explain it really, but I now have a shelf in my mind to things I can’t explain.

It like the way God speaks to people in the Bible and today. Yes I said today. I don’t know why we have insisted that this has passed away. I have some strong suspicions, but I will save them. there are SO many things about God that are a mystery to me. He is TOO big and TOO Wonderful to explain. I am not going to limit him to speaking only through the written word. I don’t think he will contridict it. But I put that on my shelf of mysteries. He does some amazing things that I could never orchestrate, but I stand amazed when he does them. and I stand on the side and yell, “Yea God! You did it again, did everybody see that?”

We need to make much of Him, less of ourselves. More later.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2006 12:26 am

    Yes!

    I agree, absolutely.

    But it’s 12:15 a.m. Saturday, already, and I’ve GOT to get some sleep, despite the “manic/depressive” mode all week and four nights straight of severe diabetic neuropathy pains in my left foot.

    I have a lot to say about dreams, Tommy. I have very vivid ones every single night, in living color, and have long believed they serve a purpose, maybe even beyond ourselves and our subconscious.

    I’m looking forward to hearing more from you about your thoughts. Have a great weekend and then get the dialogue going.

    Dee

  2. January 14, 2006 7:29 am

    I love it! I’ve often said that maybe we think God doesn’t speak to us because we’re not listening.

  3. January 14, 2006 12:04 pm

    TL – I agree with you 100%! YES!

    There are so very many ways, I’ve found, that God “speaks” to us and communicates with us, if we will just open ourselves up to it.

    We not only don’t turn the power on, we don’t even plug into the source to begin with!

    Years ago when I was just a senior in high school, I entered a contest to write a history of our regional Electric Co-operative out of Lubbock, Texas.

    In doing so, I read through lots of historical records and did taped interviews with all of the original founders of the cooperative in the area. They were full of wonderful stories about how it was there in the late 1930s when electric lines and power were first run out into all the rural areas and communities and farms.

    Many of the people who first got electricity and power to their farm homes with new fangled light bulbs and radios and the like didn’t fully understand this wonderful medium or exactly how to use it.

    For instance, one lady called in complaining about how much her electric bill was, thinking it was too high. But shortly thereafter she called back saying she’d found where the problem was. A couple of her electric outlets on the walls didn’t have things plugged in to them and electricity was leaking out!

    Another person kept all their light bulbs unscrewed and out of the sockets when they weren’t using them and didn’t need the lights on, rather than just turning the lights off like we would do. They didn’t understand how that switch over on the wall that had just been put in related to the light bulbs in the ceiling.

    It was a great project and I had a ball doing it. (I won the regional contest and 2nd in the state of Texas and the book was published and widely distributed. I named it “The People Have the Power,” which they kept as the name, after getting a well written – if I say so myself – cheap history written without having to hire a historian!)

    Anyway – my point is that we, as Christians, do the same exact thing with our power sources from God. We don’t have ourselves “plugged in” to the sources, but instead have all this power “leaking out” all around us without us taking advantage of it.

    We unscrew our light bulbs and sit in the dark wondering where God is. I guess we expect Him to hit us over the head with a lightning bolt or something for us to pay attention.

    I’ve done that in my own life, or have become terribly impatient when I couldn’t immediately see the “BIG” answer to my problems and questions lit up before me in gigantic light bulbs on a movie marquee that was blinding.

    I can’t wait to hear what else you’re going to say about all of this Tommy. This should be good!

  4. January 14, 2006 12:26 pm

    OK, I admit it, your previous post intimidated me. I sometimes fear saying something foolish on someone else’s blog (I reserve the right to do that on MY OWN).

    But, it is far more that the dividing into catagories that makes the Bible seem like a text book or a rule book. The whole Chapter and verse thing often totally messes up a continuing thought. It is like we are so hung-up on dividing things we just can’t get past it.

    Like, as you say, the time that God speaks to folks in dreams. I believe he does it still. I believe he speaks to us still when we read the Bible, but I don’t limit God to that. Sometimes he has to get our attention….We say that we may be the only Bible people ever read, but how would it change us if we really believed that? How would we act if we thought God wanted us to show him to everyone we meet….not talk about him necessarily, but BE HIM!!

Leave a Reply

