Skip to content

Blasting Away

January 25, 2006

Does this resemble your pulpit?

Well first a gratuitous link to Keith’s posts on “Taking things too literally” is in order. Anybody that uses the word brilliant in the same discussion of anything I write receives my undying devotion! He really does a great job at getting at the issue from a different direction. Better than I have done.

In Keith’s part II post he mentions that Jesus being “in all” is worthy of a book and wow that’s right. I write that down so maybe I will pick that up in the future. Think on I Cor. 10:4 What do you make of this passage?

I still have not seen “End of the Spear” but some good friends saw it and thought it was a little too much Hollywood. Good but that the documentary was more moving. I do think that knowing the story would make it better.

Does it seem that people, who’s faith is like a wall of bricks have to protect each and every one of the bricks? Is the fear that it will all crumble if one is removed?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2006 3:14 pm

    I don’t know why your link to Keith don’t work…

    You are quite brilliant..you ask the hard questions, you search and you even risk offending.

    Are pulpits scriptural???

  2. January 25, 2006 3:16 pm

    {are you searching for undying devotion?}

  3. January 25, 2006 3:24 pm

    Hey! I’ve heard good things about the movie — Sorry I beat you at Dee’s contest. Ahem.

    Ha….

  4. January 25, 2006 3:46 pm

    Hey I seriously considered some eyebrow comments on this post… NOW your in for it!

  5. January 25, 2006 4:51 pm

    Those are guns sticking out of the pulpit. Someone wanted to know but didn’t want to look stupid. Its ok DONNA your not stupid.

  6. January 25, 2006 8:14 pm

    Guns? I thought they were like parallel bars to exercise on while preaching. Up down up down. hear! Up down, up down. Believe! Up down, up down. Repent! Up down, up down. Confess! Be Baptized.

    (And then, be added to the church.)

    See, it doesn’t take good brows to be able to remember those good ole CoC mantras!

    You better not photoshop me! We did it to Keith, but not ME!!

  7. January 26, 2006 7:17 am

    “Brilliant” pulpit with guns picture. I must say, I’d rather be behind it than in front of it, unless the view from behind showed a pew with more guns pointing back!

  8. January 26, 2006 9:28 am

    The guns sticking out of the pulpit (I recognized them immediately, myself, from experience) remind me very much of some churches I’ve been members of. One, just up the road (as you know).

    Then there was a tiny little one over in Nacogdoches, Texas from way long ago before I even had kids. That town was full of them, nearly all “anti” something or other, starting with each other, of course.

    I’ve even been in some like Danny points out, where the guns are firing both ways. And, yes, TCS, it is EXACTLY like churches and/or individual Christians having big brick walls around them from which to fire behind and to protect.

    That seems to me to be the very opposite of how we should be as God’s workers in this lost world. Not that we should take on the world’s attributes, but how can we be light and salt from behind our high barricades?

    I thank God I’m in a great, open, caring, serving congregation now over at Tammany Oaks. I’m encouraged with a lot of good I see being done in many of the Lord’s churches. Greatly encouraged and happy to see so many good changes being made. I hope we’ll always work to do even more.

Leave a Reply

