Skip to content

Traveling with Freaks

February 7, 2006

Title borrowed from Donald Miller (Community – living with freaks).

Traveled with weekend with 6 other great guys. We had a great time with each other (at least I did). I knew that one of us had impersonations of some of us, including me. So he started doing these. It is a little uncomfortable seeing someone has picked up your mannerisms. But it was funny. On friend kept trying to do himself (he had no idea that he even does this mannerism) everyone else recognized it and he was way off.

On the way home some of us were going into uncharted territory of suggesting areas that (personality traits, weaknesses, etc.) could be improved on.

It occurred to me that we are a bunch of freaks.

No different than any other group of people. Everyone is unique and strange and individual.

So, why is it that most communities, including churches try to mold or remold everyone into their likeness. We want to be around PLU not PLT (people like us vs. people like them).

It also occurred to me and I am glad I said it. I told my friend that those things are what makes him who he is, that we like him because of / in spite of/ these quirks. For him not to change.

To all of you (whoever you are). God created you to be someone special, unique, individual, needed. Don’t try to be someone else, be yourself and you will have a weight to yourself that can only come from God.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2006 5:49 pm

    When a bunch of guys get together, roof a house out of the kindness of their hearts, drink a few…rounds of tea, eat a big meal — it don’t get much better than that. What you see, is what you get!

  2. February 7, 2006 8:48 pm

    You all sound like the kind of freaks I like….but I too am kind of “freaky”

  3. February 7, 2006 10:50 pm

    You know, Tommy – that’s one of the things that kills marriages. Big time.

    Most people, if not all, get married because they really like the other person for who they are – all of their quirks and style and traits. Then once the rings are on the fingers of the respective hands, they both go about immediately trying to “change” the other one.

    As Tom has always told me – from way back when – like years before we ever got married – in his eyes I was always trying to make him “a better person” – a “better man.”

    He always scoffed at that, too, of course, and said I liked him just the way he was so why would I want to change him or make him “better.” Of course, I didn’t think I was doing that or trying to do that. I just had higher expectations for him, I think, than he had for himself.

    He used to laugh about it all the time and then one day in the not too distant past when he was talking about it, he suddenly stopped. He looked at me and said – you know what? I AM a better man because of you. A much better man.

    But it wasn’t something I set out to do or “tried to accomplish” or anything. And he didn’t mean it negatively at all. I never considered how he was to be a negative thing that “needed to be changed.”

    But I DID believe in him. Much more than he believed in himself. Just as he always believed in me much more than I believed in myself. (As I wrote in my poetry about him – to him – last week.)

    That’s what it’s all about in this life, you know? Not trying to make people change. Just showing them how much you like them and want for them and how much you believe in them in very good ways.

    I think if we all did that with each other as Christians and as husbands and wives and as good friends, the world and the church would be much better places much sooner than they are the way many people go about things now.

  4. February 7, 2006 10:52 pm

    I’m sure I would have enjoyed some of those impersonations!

  5. February 7, 2006 11:54 pm

    Hum… What are those funny mannerisms you have?

  6. February 8, 2006 11:21 am

    I know, but I’ll never tell! ha!

    (Not really, guys – Tommy is charming!)

    Just wait till you see my next post about him . . . you’ll see.

Leave a Reply

