Skip to content

On the List

February 8, 2006

Elder/ Shepherd/ Presbyter/ Overseer / Policeman
Apparently I am in trouble. Someone called the Elderpolice and they scheduled a “visit” last night.

I will let that sink in.

They had heard things… supposed things… put some things together…. they were concerned.

We are on the concerned list!

For better or worse we laid the cards on the table. I hope we did so gently, but we laid them all out.

To borrow my wife’s words, we may not be involved in ways that some people want us to be but we are very committed to living for God.

Warning to you. Go from hyper involved to staying at home for on Wednesday nights for a month to teach your own children and see what you get.

I am not sure they are any less concerned. We will see.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2006 12:24 pm

    Sounds like you’re not just “on the list,” you’ve been “black listed.”

    Let me know if I can help you. Believe me I’ve been black listed before and although it can be quite unnerving for a time and never leaves you entirely, it can be an agent for good – for needed and necessary, perhaps, changes in your lives.

    It always worked out that way for me – in the end – which was sometimes a long time coming, but which did.

    As Kim says, you both as “very committed to living for God,” and I know for a fact that is very true. I’ve experienced your committed living for God first hand. So, God will not depart from you or leave your hearts or remove His Spirit.

    Keep us posted.

  2. February 8, 2006 2:09 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  3. February 8, 2006 2:23 pm

    I found my “involvement card” strangly empty this year.

    I am glad they called you and came and talked to you instead of just meeting and talking “about you”.

    You know I am in your corner.

  4. February 8, 2006 2:35 pm

    TL said Booby! and then deleted it. I was so excited for a minute.

    Come on, you mama don’t read this blog!

  5. February 8, 2006 2:52 pm

    I just said that my mother had been “somewhat concerned” with the worship services I had been attending!

    I also mentioned that if I were to start dancing at Wesley’s Boobie Trap she should be somewhat concerned… there – I said it!

    Boobie, Boobie, Boobie (you can’t spell – Dufus!)

  6. February 8, 2006 3:01 pm

    Dear Gussie! You’re right! I looked it up! I stand corrected.

  7. February 8, 2006 3:03 pm

    Concern or control of the flock, that is the question.

  8. Anonymous permalink
    February 8, 2006 4:32 pm

    Is it not the duty of the elders to talk to you if they are worried about you? Must we think the worst of everyone? It seems to me that if they (those who look after the flock) didn’t come see you then you would be upset too-

  9. February 8, 2006 5:18 pm

    Dear Anonymous,
    I assume that you are aiming your comment at me. First, I normally would delete your comment since you are not willing to sign it. But it seems that you are the one assuming the worst. I didn’t say anything negative about the elders. I am glad they came and told them so. My concern is that people see them as police. If you have a problem call in the elders instead of talking to the person first as Jesus said you should.

  10. February 8, 2006 6:33 pm

    Tommy,
    When I was growing up, one of my friends coined this phrase:
    “This is the elder’s attendance committee, where in the hell have you been?”

    I too have had a concerned elder question me about my lack of attendance on Wednesdays. I wanted to puke and tell him when he was less controlling and dominating of his wife then I might show up….but I just looked at him and walked off.

    Blessings for putting your family first.

  11. February 8, 2006 6:48 pm

    Have I told this one on myself before?

    Twenty years ago, when cell phones were as big as bricks and twice as heavy, the cool thing that was affordable was an answering machine.

    I recorded this message on mine:

    “Today’s topic is Jewish sects of the first century. The Saducees were a wealthy, ruling sect which did not believe in the resurrection, in spirits or angels. The Pharisees accepted all of those things, as well as a lot of additional interpretations to God’s law. And the Zealots were a sect dedicated to the overthrow of their Roman overlords.

    “Please leave your question or message at the tone.

    “And thank you for dialing Sects by Phone.”

    I got home from work one evening a heard this message:

    “(Uneasy snicker.) Uh, Keith, this is (name of elder removed) and I was calling to see if you’d lead prayer Sunday morning.”

    As you might guess, that message didn’t last long on my machine.

    And I got to lead prayer that Sunday. Thank goodness it was Robert Walls calling, rather than (name of any of the rest of the elders removed)!

  12. February 8, 2006 7:11 pm

    Keith –

    Did you really do that? Put that message on your answer machine?

    How funny . . .

    As for assuming the worst, Anonymous (and Tommy) – I once had a young minister’s wife, who was also the daughter of the President of a (very conservative) c of C university, falsely accuse me of lying to her (we were standing on the covered front porch of my home where I was helping her do something when she asked if she could speak to me “in Christian love”) because I’d said something she’d misinterpreted as a lie.

    I had no idea what she was talking about at first, but finally realized it had to do with something that she implied the worst about, instead of the best. She operated (according to her own husband, later) on a “you’re assumed guilty until you can prove yourself innocent” basis with everyone, apparently. Including her own husband and father.

    I don’t know who you are, Anonymous. You may be the person I’m talking about above, for all I know. But let me lovingly caution you in casting blame on others. Remember Jesus’ admonition to those wanting to stone the woman taken in adultry. Let all you who are without sin, cast the first stone.

    I, like Tommy, am glad the elders came to him if they had questions. That was the correct thing to do. But I also agree with him that elders should be most cautious of how they come across to other people.

    Our own elders at Tammany Oaks call themselves shepherds, and they truly are. They are so loving and kind and careful in guiding their flock. And I’m immensely grateful to each and every one of them. They have been nothing but blessings in my life and Tom’s.

  13. February 8, 2006 8:31 pm

    Great story Keith. I am sure if you had told it we would have remembered!

  14. February 8, 2006 10:16 pm

    Uhh Keith, are you suggesting a sects message on my phone? Thank you for calling c of c phone sects. If you would like to learn about anti’s press 1. If you would like to learn about one cuppers press 2. Ok “one cuppers phone sects” is funny. I don’t care who you are.

  15. February 9, 2006 9:42 am

    I’m laughing….but we know we both have the “freaky-weird” sense of humor…

  16. February 9, 2006 10:29 am

    “one cuppers phone sects”??

    Uh – is that as in . . .??

    Never mind.

    But don’t try “saying” that, either in person or on the phone, to anyone who is just hearing it phonetically. They’ll think you found some really weird 900 number!

    Tommy, Tommy, Tommy . . . you and Keith.

  17. February 9, 2006 1:36 pm

    So, when I was a teeanger in the adult class one Wednesday evening (our teacher didn’t show – hmmm) a debate broke out about whether people who don’t come to church should be disfellowshipped.

    Frankly, I am glad that you are taking family spirituality into your own hands.

    The first reformation took the Bible and placed it into the hands of people. The second reformation takes the church and places it into the hands of the people.

    Good work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. February 10, 2006 9:42 pm

    I’m glad you got to express your thoughts to the elders in your home. I hope it was mostly a positive experience. Hope.

Leave a Reply

