Skip to content

My Darling

February 13, 2006

My wife, Kim, is an amazing woman!

Everyone who knows her, knows her to be tender and kind. She has an incredible ability to reach out to everyone. She loves people not just because of what they do but just because she does. She has taught me more about God than anyone, or any book.

She is not in the spotlight much. She should be. She is a great mother – the best I know. She is the kind of mother that makes piglet smile.

She keeps three boys all day. She home schools and worries that she is not getting enough done. (Now I realize for some of you that raises all your concerns, keep them to yourself) She does a great job. Our oldest, who is 10 last year tested in the top percentile in the country. But the world has plenty of smart people. What it needs is more good people. And because of her God’s kingdom will have 3 warrior poets. She takes them to visit people in the nursing home. Who does that? She stresses over other people’s needs. Who does that? She prays for me, and calls others to do so when she is worried. Who does that? Her children adore her. Her husband is amazed at her, humbled by her, inadequate beside her.

I am a lucky man in many ways. Most of them have to do with Kim.

Did I mention her beauty? She seems to become more and more beautiful every year. She has the most beautiful eyes. I think it is because the eyes are the window to the soul.
It is like being married to a movie star. We get stopped occasional for someone to say, “you look like the girl in Jerry Maguire” or sometime “you look like that Renee girl” we say yeah we hear that sometimes.

Did I mention her patience? (she is laughing here) But to put up with me requires an extraordinary amount. I am not one of those guys. The kind that write about their wives. The kind that shower them with praise. I am working on that. She deserves it.

Kim is beautiful in every way. She makes the world a better place. She makes me a better man.

How beautiful you are, my darling! Oh, how beautiful! Your eyes are doves.

And she has really cute kids!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2006 1:51 pm

    You should put up Kleenex alert warnings before posting such sweet heartfelt sentiments about your lovely wife.

    You are indeed blessed~

  2. February 13, 2006 2:03 pm

    You should get a good Valentine….oh wait, you already have the best one!

    Sweet stuff, I would say she is lucky too!

  3. Angie Burns permalink
    February 13, 2006 4:37 pm

    Tommy… It does my heart good to hear you praise Kim like that. I have rarely heard you share things like that, even though I can see how much you love her. Happy Valentine’s Day to both of you… I’ll be celebrating the love you and Kim have and the beautiful friendship we all share. It’s almost too much… to be blessed by friends like you. Thank you, Lord!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. February 13, 2006 4:39 pm

    Kim – you are absolutely darling! Wow! I hope you’re reading all of this because it is obvious that Tommy is crazy about you both from what he has said and is saying here today and from being around him in person when he’s away from you, like he was down here last weekend.

    You DO remind me of Renee Zellwegger, but you’re much prettier than she is (I think). She’s what I’d call “cute” (on a really good day, that is), but you are really pretty.

    Tom and I hope we get to meet you real soon because we had such a great time with Tommy and the guys last weekend. We’d love for you to come down, too, and hope you can.

    Tommy – you’re a very blessed man. Very blessed. And you obviously realize that. I’m so happy for you. Very happy, indeed. Take care of her very carefully and keep her and the boys safe in your heart and in your arms. I know you will.

    I’m proud of you for sharing your love of Kim with all of us. That’s a great valentine to give her.

  5. February 13, 2006 10:39 pm

    Kim is truly beautiful inside and out. I am amazed by her home schooling abilities – that is so not me. Happy Valentines Day to you two!

  6. February 15, 2006 8:23 pm

    Amazing and down right good-looking!

Leave a Reply

