Skip to content

Why/What we Believe 1

February 24, 2006

How do begin to answer about the nature of God? I mean if someone asked you to tell them about God, what he is like, where would you start?

I would guess that if pressed we would all agree that you can’t completely, adequately describe the creator of the universe.

But where would you begin?

Genesis? One of the Gospels? Nature? “Before the beginning”?

And once you pick where to start how do you proceed? A list of attributes?

I plan for this to begin a series of posts about why we believe what we believe.

On a pure bragging note: I had a present in the mail yesterday. Word publishing sent me an advance reader copy of Brian McLaren’s “The Secret Message of Jesus” ! All I am asked to do is review it here after it is released and post my review at Amazon. Aren’t you jealous. I look forward to reading it. I started last night. Also from the bragging department. One week from today will be another blog encounter where 3 bloggers will actually meet face to face. But its a secret as to where and why. At least till one of us says something.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2006 12:17 pm

    Looking forward to your series.

    Secret meeting?? Curiosity abounds (-:

  2. February 24, 2006 12:52 pm

    Oooh… I just LOVE secrets!

  3. February 24, 2006 1:22 pm

    I am so JEALOUS!! But, I look forward to your review and your series..

    Secret blog encounters? Sounds mysterious. Can’t wait for someone to spill the beans.So is this three bloggers in addition to yourself?

  4. February 24, 2006 8:26 pm

    I don’t guess it’s me being one of the mysterious “3 bloggers” meeting next Friday since I don’t know anything about it. After all, next Thursday is my birthday and our 15th wedding anniversary!

    And it would be nice, Tommy, of you and your friends to drop back by to do a little painting touch-up work on our hall and a few doors.

    Actually – and another big secret is being let out of the bag here tonight on your blog, Tommy – Tom and I have decided we are going to sell our house here in lovely, but prone to flooding, Slidell to “take the cash and run” to Picayune, as soon as we can finish the relatively minor repairs on our house and back fence and get it on the market.

    We had a real estate agent friend (who we’ve known for years since Picayune and who brought us to our house here) come by this afternoon and he thinks we can do well by selling now and going north, which is where everyone in this area and south of us are heading, apparently, before the next hurricane season starts.

    I guess I need to post on that next and ask for prayers from you all about it.

    Look forward to your next posts.

    As for GOd – gosh – I always come back to Billy Bob Thornton’s great screenplay and portrayal of the lead character in “Sling Blade” about how we should come “know” God. Maybe that seems rather simplistic, but if those who are the most “simple minded” can come to know God well enough through His word – the Bible – to reach the understanding they should be baptized to be right with God, then how can I NOT believe, myself? How can I not? I have no excuse.

  5. February 25, 2006 11:58 am

    Advanced copy — cool! As far as the nature of God, I think one of the best ways is get to know Jesus first through the book of John.
    Jesus revealed God’s nature in the book of John.

  6. February 25, 2006 9:16 pm

    I’m very much looking forward to your review of McLaren’s book. It was one of the most illuminating for me about the Kingdom that I’ve ever read.

  7. February 27, 2006 12:22 pm

    Suspense! I look forward to reading about all the above.

Leave a Reply

