Skip to content

Why/What we Believe 2

February 27, 2006

This is actually a Hubble image. Pretty cool. Where I would begin to tell about God is with a story. There are many to choose from. I recently choose a Nooma Video (Rain) to tell about how it is at the core of God’s nature to love us as children, to want to get us home. I think its a great video. Everyone didn’t agree (it has music in it). Well I should say, that they didn’t agree with showing it.

I think the value of story is under-rated. I have heard several sources lately saying how we don’t need to be told stories. But I think that is how Jesus taught. It is why his teachings are timeless.

We all live in a great big huge story! That is how our lives unfold. We don’t live an outline or a list. We live a story.

This story starts before the beginning. Before Genesis that is. There are some things that we can understand from that before the beginning. The first is that God doesn’t want to be alone. He existed before the beginning as this mysterious 3 in 1.

Three individuals so in rhythm with each other that they are one in mind and thought. A seamless team.

But I think its important to start to understand God that he doesn’t desire to be alone. There are other creatures there with him as well.

that may not seem significant to you, but I think it will later.

two things:
1. God doesn’t want to be alone.
2. Whenever we come to believe something about God that goes against his character then maybe we need to re-evaluate our understanding.

The mysterious blog encounter will occur in another state! Oh the mystery of it all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2006 5:36 pm

    Obviously, I’m a story kind of person. I like to tell them but, especially, I like to hear them. You’re talking about my favorite story…God made me and wants me to come live with him… neither of us will be alone!

  2. February 27, 2006 9:35 pm

    You know how I feel about stories/analogies. There is no better way for me to understand truths….

    **So is it an adjoining state??**

  3. February 28, 2006 12:25 am

    Ahhh – you’re back, T.

    At the end of your last post I was already thinking that I would begin trying to “explain” God by starting in John:

    “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.”

    John 1:1-5

    (I just wrote a comment to Mike Cope’s blog post of today about God and “light.” Take a look at it when you have a minute.)

    Dee

Leave a Reply

