Skip to content

Why/What we Believe 3

February 28, 2006

Not only does God not wish to be alone but also before Genesis we learn that He is Good. That there is evil in the story. But He is not evil. But evil exists.

There is that description in Isaiah 14 that seems to tell that story.

But God is good. More than good!

We learn early on that he makes deals, covenants, contracts. And he keeps his end and even keeps them when the other party messes up.

There is an ancient deal he made with a guy from somewhere around Iraq. His name was Abram and they made many deals together but one promised to bless everyone. Even though people messed up again and again, God was GRACIOUS and he kept his promise.

God is just, but above his justice is his love and graciousness.

So, 5 things

1. God doesn’t want to be alone
2. God is good.
3. God makes deals and keeps them.
4. God is gracious above being just.
5. Whenever we come to believe something about God that goes against his character then maybe we need to re-evaluate our understanding.

The blog encounter will happen in an adjacent state to me (Donna). It will involve 5 women and two men. Three of these are bloggers. It will require tickets to join part of the encounter but part of the encounter will only require the ability to solve some clues.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2006 11:56 am

    I love a good mystery….

    It is good that God is more gracious than just. It is great that he loves me in spite of me. I want to know him more and better and to have him be proud of me.

    But what comfort to know that he loves me and will love me not matter how often or how badly I fail to do what I stated above.

    ** Is this a mandatory meeting or is it more in tune with volunteers?**

  2. February 28, 2006 5:41 pm

    I just love that God! He acts like he loves me, too!

    Donna should be good at this mystery thing… I never was very good at clues… I give up!

Leave a Reply

