Skip to content

Why/What we Believe 4

March 1, 2006

Before we get into what we believe, one more aspect of God’s nature to consider. Early on in the story, well early in our way of thinking. Is the story of Moses. It’s early on for us because all that we have of the early story is written by Moses. So his experiences with this God is very important.

He (we) meet him in a bush that is on fire, but doesn’t burn up.

And Moses asks the question about where do I start to tell people about you. They will want to know who you are and God tells his name. As I understand it that name means, I have always been, I am now, and I will always be. My understanding is that you can also insert the word faithful into each of those three phrases. God is consistent, constant, unwavering. But that doesn’t mean he will not change his mind. But that is another story.

So out of these few things we know that God is Gracious and loving, constant and true, faithful, desires to not be alone and that he keeps his promises.

We all have sets of beliefs. Some of them we have grown up with. Some of them we have learned lately. But we all have things that we believe about the right way to please God. The right way to worship God, the right way to treat others, and even the right way to read and apply the Bible.

Some of you picture Jesus on a cross on top of a hill. Why?

Well it is in that old song, “On a hillllllll far awayyyyyy, stood an old rugged crosssss…” The place of the skull sounds like a hill…well sort of if you like the idea of a hill looking like a skull.

The point is we have all sorts of things we think, and some of them like this probably don’t matter. But some of them do. And if they are about God and they are not in keeping with his character then there is a problem.

I have a few written down, but if you have some pet ones that make you think, where did we get this one? Add it as a comment.

The mystery connection will occur in Memphis in front of a guy named David and some other dudes that called Third Day. Two of the bloggers are riding together to the meeting. They both drive fast, but one of them seems to attract Mr. Do Right with the Blue light! Let’s hope she is not driving. I am running out of clues, and maybe it is obvious. So unless they spill the beans I will tell tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2006 3:15 pm

    Don’t worry, my sources tell me that the “other one” is driving.

    I think this is your story to tell!

    I need to think about the rest of your post before I comment….

  2. March 1, 2006 5:33 pm

    When I went to the doctor, they told me that I carry 8 lbs more on one leg than the other…I wonder if it’s my right leg? That would explain a heavy foot, I guess.

  3. March 1, 2006 7:10 pm

    Hmmm…this is getting good.–>

Leave a Reply

