Skip to content

Why/What we Believe 5

March 2, 2006

For those of us who have a background in Churches of Christ (and if you even notice whether the “c” is a c or C then you qualify) we have been influenced in what we believe by a three part hermeneutic. Specifically:
1. Direct Command
2. Apostolic Example
3. Necessary Inference

For me it is pretty easy to take some shots at this model. Especially number 3 which usually means if it helps do what I want to do then ok but if I don’t like it then you have no authority and it is not necessary.

Since no one is playing my name some beliefs that don’t make sense to you anymore. Let me name a biggy for me.

This is a belief that I was taught, and of course I believed. It influences SO many other items of Othodoxy. The belief is that silence in scripture means that God does not approve of it. For some that statement alone is hard to understand.

But what if that is true, then there is no mention of instruments in worship in the New Testament so God hates instruments in worship or at least it is sinful. Silence on the issue of kitchens has led some to a place that they condemn those that have them in their buildings. Yet there is no authority for having a building. I grew up being taught that those brothers just were silly. They were our brothers but needed to get over the kitchen thing. Yet their understanding comes from the same source.

I believe that source is fear.

Fear that God is a hard master, that he can’t be trusted. That its best to be as safe as possible.

Again, when we come up with a belief that is contrary to the nature of God, maybe we should re-examine that belief. Next time a parable of Jesus to a make the point.

Probably no post tomorrow as we will be traveling to Memphis to go to a concert and more importantly we will meet up with DJG and TL. So I am really looking forward to it. On another note many years ago I met this girl named Angie and the rest is a long story, but Angie has a new blog that you can find HERE. More on that later.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2006 11:34 am

    I am with you on this..but more importantly we interpret the mind of God when we decide he must have changed his mind about how he wants to be worshipped because no instrument was mentioned.

    I didn’t see any mention of silver trays and little plastic cups either, but we ascertain that to be OK. I think if we fail to get to know God we will always get hung up on the “small stuff”….God wants more from us and for us!

    Looking forward to MEMPHIS!!

  2. March 2, 2006 12:49 pm

    I grew up in a C not a c and I was always told not to limit God. Right before I was told that it was a sin to dance, smoke, and/or gamble. I understand the wisdom behind these decisions but this group insisted on scriptural proof for every move made inside the building but, never really gave me scriptures on this other stuff. Maybe rules only apply to INSIDE the building…

    See ya in Memphis… I’ll try to get Donna to slow down!!!!

  3. March 2, 2006 9:51 pm

    I grew up in a C and then went to a c.

    Now I’m Presbyterian.

    šŸ™‚

  4. March 3, 2006 5:05 am

    I grew up in a CoC but went through a major rethinking process in college and came to understand (and buy in) the coC restoration plea. The old three part hermeneutic was based largely on Alex Campbell’s model which didn’t work for him and he abandoned pretty quickly. Read his stuff (The Christian System) from later in life and he had a 10 part system (as I remember it) that was far more inclusive and asked better questions of the text. The triad was bankrupt during his life…and yet many CoC still use it because they don’t understand and they is just what they were taught. Why can’t we grow up?

  5. March 3, 2006 11:37 pm

    Great pictures!

    I changed some of my thoughts on many things when I read in Revelation that God was passing out harps in heaven. It didn’t make sense that instruments were a big deal in the OT, and then at the end of the Bible, God is the conductor!

  6. March 4, 2006 2:25 am

    Maybe I’m the “weirdo” of this group, but I believe in being just a “C” period, as in “Christian.”

    In fact, I was talking with Tom earlier this evening (well, now LAST evening – and don’t ask why, it would take me entirely way too to explain, but believe me, it’s been an extraordinarily eventful week!!!!!!!!!!!) about being much more ecumenical in that I would consider (listen carefully) (1) moving to a new town, (2) coming out of the C (or c) of C, (3) attending Sunday worship services (for weekly communion) with an (4) “ex”-First Baptist “Churcher” (5) who has converted to Catholicism, at the new town’s (5) Catholic church to partake of communion together (wine or grape juice or otherwise) every Sunday, because I believe so strongly in weekly communion together as Christians.

    (Do I need to repeat all of that way too long sentence above and break it down into its multitude of parts??)

    (And do I need to further explain why I’m commenting on any blogs at all for the first time in a week at 2:20 a.m. on a Saturday morning??)

    Stay tuned for further developments on the homefront here (in Slidell) and on my blog, to get the “rest of the story” in the ongoing saga and fascinating lives of “the” Dee Andrews & Tom.

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

