Skip to content

Rhythm

March 6, 2006

Since Terri got the ok. Donna sent me a message to pray for her Daughter Diana (expecting triplets) She is at the hospital and they trying to stop pre-term labor. They ask for your prayers.

Come and listen, come to the water’s edge, all you who know and fear the Lord.
Come and listen, come to the water’s edge all you who are thirsty, come.

Let me tell you what He has done for me.
Let me tell you what He has done for me,
He has done for you,
He has done for us.

Come and listen,
come and listen to what He’s done.
Praise our God for He is good.

He has done for me,
He has done for you,
He has done for us.

Friday afternoon we (includes Donna, Terri and Angie) meet down by the river at the waters edge. Some impressions are only meant to be shared personally, but others are open for all. (yeah that is cryptic, but I know what I mean).

The Mighty Mississippi has strong currents and as a group of people that I feel I know got to know each other it was a great time. I could feel the current that afternoon.

When I was walking in Memphis
I was walking with my feet 10 feet off of Beale
Walking in Memphis
But do I really feel the way I feel

They’ve got catfish on the table
They’ve got gospel in the air
And Reverend Green be glad to see you
When you haven’t got a prayer
Boy you got a prayer in Memphis

Now Muriel plays piano
Every Friday at the Hollywood
And they brought me down to see her
And they asked me if I would —
Do a little number
And I sang with all my might
She said —
“Tell me are you a Christian child?”
And I said “Ma’am I am tonight”

Ramon asked if we were Christians. We gladly said we were. He didn’t ask what church we went to. He didn’t ask our take on any doctrinal issue. He did ask for a cigarette. I told him I would gladly give him one if I had it. That is the only thing he asked for other than … He started to sob.

Standing beside us was a man crying and asking if we would please pray for him. We did. And he called out to Jesus as we prayed. I heard others crying as well.

In the end Ramon prayed for us. He told us about Jesus and his words. He later told me he was talking to a tree and I’m good with that. Really.

It is easy to dismiss people as looking to take advantage, I was proud that this group not only accepted Ramon but didn’t diminish him as a person in any way. He was a child of God with flaws just like all of us. His flaws show up a little easier, that’s all.

To say that God showed up would mean that he wasn’t already there. So I can’t say that. But to say that he spoke, demonstrated, taught would all be appropriate.

I am learning that whenever and whatever gives you satisfaction determines what you give glory.

Third Day sang that night

For the ones who can’t break the addictions and chains
you try to give up but you come back again.
Just remember that you’re not alone
in your shame and your suffering.

There is hope for the helpless, rest for the weary,
and love for the broken hearts.
There is grace and forgiveness, mercy and healing
He’ll meet you wherever you are.

Cry out to Jesus.

David said

“I have seen you in the sanctuary
and beheld your power and your glory.

Because your love is better than life,
my lips will glorify you.

I will praise you as long as I live,
and in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you. “

Till the day that God satisfies me as with the richest of foods and I give Him all the Glory.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2006 11:48 am

    good one!

  2. March 6, 2006 12:33 pm

    OK. I’m crying too much to comment… but I can manage a thank you. Thanks, Tommy… for this post, for introducing me to your blog buddies, for allowing God to lead you and stepping up to lead your family and friends when opportunities come along, for driving all the way to Memphis and back…

    Yeah. All that.

  3. March 6, 2006 12:55 pm

    Wow! Ramon is famous — I keep reading about him in your blogs! Wonder what will happen to y’all in Memphis this weekend?

  4. March 6, 2006 9:56 pm

    I like these kind of stories, the stories that affect the tellers more than the hearers (or in this case the readers). And, judging from the affect the story had on me, I can only imagine its’ affect on you.

  5. March 7, 2006 12:39 pm

    Wow! This story has so many sides. The beauty is all of us “eye-witnesses” know that it was a Jesus moment.

    I am glad to have shared it with you. (broken wrist and all…)

    Thanks for the prayers…we are still hanging on.

  6. March 9, 2006 6:00 am

    Sounds like you guys had an awesome experience in Memphis. God speaks in different voices at times. We must learn to listen. If we don’t, who will?

Leave a Reply

