Skip to content

Goo Goo Clusters and Moon pies

March 11, 2006

Greetings from Memphis. Nancy Jayne is throwing quit a party. We have only had a few minutes to talk. She has about 200 people wanting to talk to her at any given time and that includes people like NewsWeek.

She greeted us with some goody bags that included Tennessee treats of Goo Goo Clusters and Moon Pies. I admit I love them both. Nancy by the way thinks that I may have treated her rudely as a younger camper years ago. She also says I need a picture of myself on my blog.

Last night Hailey Barbour (the governor of Mississippi) was one of the speakers. As he thanked people for their response to Katrina and spoke of the work that remains, Kim and I both had tears in our eyes. Neither of us were actually born in Mississippi but the spirit of the people affected by Katrina makes me proud of our state.

JC Watts stole the show in my opinion. He called for vision. Asked people to think about the questions related to what we want this country to be in 25 years. I think those are good questions.

It reminded me that people want a leader. And they really want a leader with a vision and the ability to communicate that vision. People will even follow a vision they don’t completely agree with rather than sit and do nothing. (Now I know there are a lot of people who want to sit and do nothing, that may because they can’t see a vision.)

+++

On another note we sat and watched Big Jerry’s band from Aligator, Mississippi. They were great. The dancing was even more interesting. I wish I had my camera.

One quick story. This one woman (all dressed up) was walking down the street, when she got in front of the amps she just broke into dance and danced up the street a ways then went back to walking. It made me think about God. And how many things that he places in our path for our pleasure. And how me times we just keep walking, too proud to dance. Which reminds me “The Color Purple”, where the great line about whenever we see the color purple, God expects us to stop…

May you not be too proud to dance. May we all give ourselves permission to enjoy life. (that’s a personal confession)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2006 5:46 pm

    Shug: Yeah, Celie. Everything wanna be loved. Us sing and dance, and holla just wanting to be loved. Look at them trees. Notice how the trees do everything people do to get attention… except walk?
    [they laugh]
    Oh, yeah, this field feels like singing!

  2. March 11, 2006 7:58 pm

    I love permission/confirmation that is OK to dance a little jig now and then….

    But thanks for the reminder.

  3. March 11, 2006 8:46 pm

    Personal confession, hunh, Tommy –

    That ranks right up there with mine yesterday afternoon in a couple of related comments to Danny Sims’ post about “date ideas” and I suggested one of our favorites (you’ll have to read my comments) where I admitted to and advocated (for those not teetotallers) a bottle of wine (or better yet, a bottle of bubbly) to go along with the impromptu picnic.

    We dance, TOO, on occasion. Especially when a good blues band has got a “slow” one going. Or Zydeco once in a while. Or – what not – dance down the street. Sure. I’m going to be ready to do that, in fact, the minute the doctor tells me I’m off the scooter, out of the boot and back in commission!

    I’m glad y’all are having fun. That’s great. Wish we were there with you . . . dancin’.

  4. March 12, 2006 5:34 am

    I am all about vision and mission. Life is made to be lived on a mission.

    I have also been learning to dance for the last year. It is an awesome experience. There is something healing about body movement and music and how it affects the spirit within.

    Thanks for the permission to enjoy it! Growing up CoC, I had never danced before. I had never even been to a dance before!

  5. March 12, 2006 4:41 pm

    Ummm.. So I finally lay eyes on this “believing Thomas” and I realize that he used to high hat me back when I was an uncool 12 year old.

    🙂

    Seriously, we have had a great time this weekend. Thanks for coming and making it possible.

    NJ

  6. March 12, 2006 10:37 pm

    Hey! Glad you & Kim had such a great time!

    Just thought of you…

    12 Angry Men is on tonight.

  7. March 13, 2006 10:54 pm

    LOVE JC Watts, and his wife too.

Leave a Reply

