Skip to content

How dry I am… How wet I’ll be…

March 14, 2006

There has to be more than one analogy here.

A friend of mine’s thesis project was for a rest stop on the middle of Lake Ponchatrain. In it he had the urinals facing each other across a low wall. Yeah, he was weird.

This public restroom is real. What analogies can you draw?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I would assume that if you used this restroom that you would feel uncomfortable. You could “do your business” and you would be safe and you would feel that everyone is looking at you as a weirdo. Of course your feelings would not be totally accurate. Some of them would have more to do with you than they have to do with the people around you.

For me there are some church analogies here. Some modern and postmodern analogies.

Tell me what you think.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2006 1:31 pm

    I think that’s a great analogy, T. And it’s one I’m facing right now in my own life (as you know) in moving up the road a ways to a place and around some people I have hard feelings about. I’ve already been contacted by email by one long time friend asking if I am coming back to join them (reminding me that about 98% of the people there don’t know me at all and that the very few who do still want to be my friends).

    I don’t know right now what exactly I’m going to do. I’m very torn, actually, because on the one hand, it might be healing for me, but on the other, it might just stir up a lot of things I don’t want to have to deal with or feel I SHOULD have to deal with. Plus, I have to seriously consider Tom and how he would handle it and my kids and all. It’s a very complicated issue for me. Very complicated.

    Maybe the things you plan to talk about here will help me. I sure hope so because I’ve got lots of jumbled up thoughts on all of this.

    But I definitely would have trouble using that “facility” you’re showing here. I don’t know if I could do it or not.

    That’s how I’m looking at my own situation. I don’t know whether I should even begin to “subject” myself to a situation that more like than not will go bad at some point. The end could be worse than how things are now. Much worse. And not for just me.

    We’ll have to talk about it . . .

  2. March 15, 2006 3:22 pm

    Sorry T, every time I try to reason out the analogies, I get the urge to take a bathroom break. You and Fajita are too deep for me these days! 😉

  3. March 15, 2006 6:24 pm

    That’s scary. The way your mind thinks, I mean. 🙂

  4. March 15, 2006 10:01 pm

    Once again… my head hurts from trying to guess what you want from us!

    Excuse me, I need to make a potty stop.

  5. March 16, 2006 8:42 am

    Oh man, what the church looks like from the inside as compared to what it looks like from the outside is something to think about.

    People on the outside might be afraid of what will be exposed if they come to the inside.

    But, perhaps if they do come in they can release some crap from their lives without polluting others with it.

    There’s more here, I can tell. Anyone else?

  6. March 16, 2006 3:54 pm

    It’s a false sense of exposure. The people inside can FEEL like they’re being seen w/o actually being seen. The people outside only see a reflection of themselves.
    Am I on the right track?

  7. March 16, 2006 4:26 pm

    neat observations.

    Beaner,
    My experience is that people inside of “church” really only see a reflection of themselves. At least too often.

Leave a Reply

