Skip to content

Inside Out – worship

March 16, 2006

There are a number of analogies which could be drawn from this public restroom. Many I am sure that I will not see.

Perception is a overwhelming force in our lives. So are expected norms.

Your brain might tell you, this glass is mirrored, no one can see me, you really need to GO, it’s ok to pull your pants down. But something seems really out of whack to pull you pants down when you can see a guy outside looking right at you.

What if the glass was reversed? From the inside it seemed safe but your mind was telling you it is not. Would your feelings change?

By the way, I was really hoping someone would say “Hey it really stinks in here!”

Ok, you would have to be female to do this (I suppose). But what if you went in with a friend. And the friend told you it was OK. The friend even pulled down their pants and used the facilities. They were like a guide showing you the way. Showing you that it was alright to do this natural thing. But you thought, “I would never be able to do that”.

What if you grew up where all toilets were like this?

In the church of my experience, there are many things which are not and can not be done. Some of these restrictions are not expressed in words but they are enforced why social norms. If you walked out of this restroom and it was circled by people staring at you in disapproval, you probably would never use it again.

Worship as I understand it is a natural reaction to getting a glimpse of God or our state in position to God. That is when we get a clue about God’s greatness then we worship. It is a natural response. That is why every knee will bow, and every tongue confess.

If I had grown up in a place where this was just normal then I would worship without so much inhibition. How do I know that is true. When I worship in a place that it is safe to break some of those unwritten rules, I do so. Gladly.

More on this as it relates to perception of church soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2006 2:06 am

    Hey T… NEW CONTEST at my blog! If you won, I’d have to think of a different prize though…

    Keepin’ you in the loop!

  2. March 18, 2006 12:18 am

    I have heard that perception is reality!

Leave a Reply

