Skip to content

Hinges

April 7, 2006

Last night Kim, Angie and I went to “Down in the District”. A free music festival here. We realized pretty soon that we were left out on the theme or accessory for the night. Apparently word got out that everyone should carry a plastic cup around with them at all times.

The opening act finished up with a rousing song about how Oklahoma boys don’t know how to roll their joints. And then Ginny Owens took the stage. We had come to hear Ginny. She is orginally from Jackson, Mississippi and in case you don’t know is a very accomplished Christian artist. Two local churches sponsored the event to help have her come.

Now in my experience this is an amazing thing. They only found out 1 month ago that this was possible and not only did one church say yes fast enough to make it happen another one agreed to help.

To be honest it was a bit strange. Ginny played with just her at the keyboard and an accoustic guitar player. Her soft sound didn’t exactly fit the venue. The guy standing beside us yelling, “play another ($*%^$&$^ song!” didn’t help.

But what a great effort. I was talking to a member of one of the sponsoring churches today and he was saying that it seemed to him we were trying to make “them” sing “our” songs. What he meant was that it would have been more effective if the music was so good that the drunk guy was going “Man. They rock!” and then realized the lyrics.

Music is really a hinge. It allows doors to open and close. Went talking preference people tend to get bent out of shape. It seems that the style you use in church might need to have something to do with the culture you are a part of. I don’t like Rap but if that was what was needed to open the door, then I could put up with it… I wouldn’t like it, but I could put up with it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2006 11:11 pm

    Great post, Tommy. I have so much to say on music, but am so tired right now. Just wanted you to know I’m jealous you got to hear Ginny Owens.

    And that is disappointing the venue and circumstances. But who knows? She may have had an impact with some people there.

  2. April 8, 2006 8:30 am

    My life is a movie & I have my own soundtrack! That is just to say that music is everything to me. It speaks the words I can’t articulate, it comforts me when I mourn…..ooh I wonder how many times I turn to music instead of God? Hmmm……you’ve got me thinking now!

  3. April 8, 2006 10:32 am

    Good point…I would have to work on the rap thing a lot though.

  4. April 8, 2006 11:30 pm

    So emergent of you. 🙂

    Sounds neat.

Leave a Reply

