Skip to content

?

April 17, 2006

Should a youth camp associated with a certain religious group be open to other religious groups to use for retreats? That is can they use the faclities under any condition?

If so should the users have to abide by the same practices, even if they don’t hold the same beliefs?

If it were your church’s building would that change anything?

They are not but what if they were Islamic?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2006 5:06 pm

    It is a building, or group of buildings. (that punctuation is a PERIOD)

    BTW thanks for accomodating the whiners among us…(OK, ME)

  2. April 17, 2006 9:13 pm

    In my opinion, all Christian groups should be allowed to use the camp – pay the rent – and use it as they wish.

    Islamic … I do not feel the same way.

    That’s my thoughts.

  3. April 17, 2006 10:32 pm

    I would think any group that is not associated with the KKK or the Black Panthers be allowed to use it. If an Islamic group was looking for a camp site in Alabama, I think I might notify the FBI.

  4. April 17, 2006 10:33 pm

    Donna, I am too dumb to understand your punctuation tips. I did best in free writing.

    JD, thanks for the comment.

  5. April 17, 2006 10:36 pm

    Well David, That’s a good point. It is of course a hypothetical question. That I came up with at a hypothetical meeting. And hypothetically of course it is not in Alabama.

  6. April 17, 2006 10:46 pm

    I was going to say exactly what JD said. Hypothetically, of course.

  7. April 17, 2006 10:46 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  8. April 17, 2006 11:20 pm

    Unless, hypothetically of course, you’re a church who claims the “building is just a building, not a holy building”. Then I suppose it would be very very wrong to lend out your oh so unholy camp to any other group claiming to be religious. *rolls eyes*

    Good grief, I’m the Director of Religious Ed. in a building that we share with Catholics *GASP*.

    I really can’t believe this whole thing could *even* be an issue anymore. I sincerely believe that we care SO MUCH more about some things than God does.

    Ummm, Islam is different seeing as they don’t even know the same God. Just my elbows though. ~

  9. April 18, 2006 7:24 am

    One time…. (vague reference to a movie I shouldn’t reference here)

    I planned our ladies retreat at the convent in our town (IN ALABAMA!)and we (the CoC ladies) actually spent the night at the Catholic girls’ place and the Catholic girls (they dress funny, I think they’re called nuns) cooked breakfast for us!

    Imagine… all us girls getting along together!

  10. April 20, 2006 8:30 pm

    I can totally understand not wanting things to go on under your “roof” that you don’t approve of.

    I mean, if one denom bought and paid for the camp it’s their business.

    Spiritually, it points to a problem if we’re talking CoC/Baptist not Hindu/CoC.

    N

  11. April 24, 2006 10:32 am

    Just in case I was misunderstood about my above comment about Islams in Alabama, I wanted to clarify. I do not have anything against allowing an Islamic group rent a camp. It probably happens in the Houston, New York, and LA area all the time. However, it was hard for to to see Islamic folks in Alabama trying to rent a CoC camp. What are the odds?

Leave a Reply

