Skip to content

A Safe Place

April 20, 2006

Our small group decided that we would start having something different on the third week of the month and invite people to join us. So you don’t want to overdo it, we started with a softball of a topic. “A Christ-like response to same sex attraction”.

We invited Angie to come speak to us because she is passionate about this subject. We only had two days to plan but we had 6 visitors!

As a confession, I was very negative about the visitors the night before. Worrying about so many things. Luckily I was over it before they arrived. I was able to welcome them and mean it. That may seem strange to you or maybe you understand. But its the truth.

I don’t want to reveal too much, but God had so much more planned than I would have dreamed. One person excused themselves to go speak to someone in love and let them know that God loves them. They had to leave NOW. Not going to wait a minute longer.

Another said, “If you ever start a church let me know.” Who said anything about that?

Still another said, “Are you meeting every week?”

And one was able to confess to someone that they struggle with this temptation.

Churches have to be safe places. Places where people can feel the safety. Places where they can share their burdens. Where they know that they will be loved regardless. In the video we watched last night. One guy said his pastor always said, he wished people had to wear their top 10 sins around their neck. I don’t know about that. But I do know we all have them and we need to share the love and grace of Jesus.

One of the songs we sang ends:

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth
will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace..

I am learning that. The less I look to myself the more he shows up. And when Jesus shows up, people are affected.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2006 10:58 am

    Wow! It should not be, but it is so amazing how God works when we are willing to step out of our comfort zones.

  2. April 20, 2006 12:41 pm

    This sounds great and I’m so encouraged to see the Kingdom of God breaking out in this way.

  3. April 20, 2006 2:13 pm

    I understand what draws people to this type of openess. What I can’t figure out is how to find others to start it. Sorry, Starkville is too long a commute for me.

    I am glad all went well. I am sure Angie was awesome!

  4. April 20, 2006 2:25 pm

    Nice to have Phil back. Donna, you can start a group. You’ve been leading one for years.

  5. April 20, 2006 3:58 pm

    We should never be surprised how God works when hearts are truly open to him.

    Thanks for helping others open up in this way.

  6. April 20, 2006 4:59 pm

    Sure glad the preacher only wished we had to wear our top 10 sins around our neck, otherwise I would need a wheelbarrow.

  7. April 20, 2006 5:18 pm

    Wow, that’s awesome! I’m sure Angie let the Lord shine through her as always. What a testimony your group was to those visiting. Just proves that there is a deep hunger out there for God.

  8. April 20, 2006 6:04 pm

    I’m working on it….with Terri’s help!

  9. April 20, 2006 8:25 pm

    That sounds amazing….

    NJ

  10. April 21, 2006 12:38 am

    Wow, wish we could do something like that out here. Shoot, wish we could be around such loving people out here!! *sigh, homesick*
    Sounds like such a great testimony.

Leave a Reply

