Skip to content

They say I hate the guy?

April 21, 2006

The church we have attended for the past 8 years is in the process of hiring a new pulpit minister. There have been a lot of things about the process that were not the way I would have approached the task but that’s another story. The pool has been narrowed to two. One of them is here this week. He arrived Wednesday.

Yesterday there was a meeting which I don’t technically qualify for attending. I resigned from that a few years ago. But I went to hear this guy and get an impression of him. I was a little late. It was apparent that everyone (about 25-30 people in the room) was supposed to be telling about themselves. When I arrived an older gentleman was telling about his life story and I went to the restroom and came back and he was still a decade or two away from wrapping up. Then the next guy started with Adam and was moving toward the flood and I asked how many people had already talked. I was told 2. Well doing the math, and knowing that it was a 2 hour meeting that I could only stay for an hour and a half of, and that it was 30 minutes into the meeting and we were at person number two. I left. That’s right I got up and went back to work.

I have a longstanding adversion to meetings where people just want to chew the fat. I can’t stand a boring meeting. I can document that.

I heard later that the pace picked up greatly and they finally got to ask some questions and get an impression of this man. Which I heard favorable things about.

Fast forward to this morning and the gossip train roles in again. My wife is called and told that “several people has said that Tommy hates the guy”.

I HAVE NOT MET HIM!!!!!!

So, Mr. ______ I leave your name out because we have been told that this process to hire a minister is secretive and preachers fish but do so in the dark. If you ever read this or if people who I go to church with and think that I hate you read it. I don’t hate you. I don’t hate anybody. I do hate Ole Miss but that’s a sports thing and if you lived here you would feel the same.

I do hate Satan. I feel the need to say that. Satan you suck! You use people to try and hurt and discourage others. You use gossip to undermine people who are trying to follow Jesus. You try to push the buttons and play that recording in our heads that keep us from being who we are meant to be. Well, too bad you lose.

So in a few minutes I go to meet the guy that people think I hate. Hopefully no one has told him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2006 11:13 am

    Good Grief!!!

    I join you in your hate for meetings. I also hate gossip!

  2. April 21, 2006 12:10 pm

    (DJG…. I PROMISE… I was about to write the same thing… GOOD GRIEF!!!)

    This is so fourth grade. I don’t even know how to respond to something like that. I have very, very little patience for things like this.

  3. April 21, 2006 12:26 pm

    Appartently one of the spiritual gifts that the Holy Spirit forgot to tell us about was mind reading. Hope your meeting goes well.

  4. April 21, 2006 10:40 pm

    Tommy…sorry but this made me laugh!

    I guess mainly because it is so HIGH SCHOOL!

    For the life of me I cannot imagine you hating a soul!

    Someone needs to get a life and stop being nosy and a gossip!

Leave a Reply

