Skip to content

Update

April 21, 2006

Somebody stop this train.

Well I met with the prospective new preacher as part of a group disscussing education. I shared with one elder this experience from this morning.

I found the guy to be genuine and sincere and loving. He seems to have a great heart. He is soft spoken, not a blow hard. He doesn’t think his job is to do everything ( i like that). I LIKE HIM.

Now to more important matters. JD had a post recently on why people blog.

Whew, as I have said here before I don’t edit, I just type. In some ways I write because its theraputic. In some ways I write to explore ideas and hear input on those ideas. Sometimes I write to be controversial in order to hopefully make people think. But …. let me start a new paragraph.

I have NEVER intended for this to be hurtful. Honest, yes. Hurtful, no.

Apparently I don’t watch statcounter as I should. Somepeople locally apparently read this and don’t comment to me, but read and relay things to others. I am not trying to hide what I believe. So I guess that is Ok.

But I just recieved a phone call a few minutes ago that in part mentioned this blog and believe me it wasn’t possitive.

I am deeply sorry if it hurts anyone to read my thoughts. Please quit reading. I will have to deciede whether to stop writing.

But I guess I have learned that if you don’t like the real me, then you don’t like me. To like a facade is no good. I realize that I swim against the current of some of my friends. That I swim against the current of my religious heritage. But I do it in search of the best way to follow after the one who died for me.

For the record the person that spoke to Kim this morning says that it was not said that I hated the guy.

So to you local readers. or those of you in Britain for that matter, if you have an issue then call me or e-mail me or better yet come to me in person. whatever is more comfortable for you.

Tearful that I wound.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2006 3:26 pm

    Not sure if I’m considered local or not… I’m an hour’s drive away, so we have a bit of a buffer zone (Seinfeld reference!).

    I feel for you, friend… I know you’re not a fan of the drama any more than I am. But I’ve come to believe that God allows messy things to surface for lots of reasons. One I’ve experienced is the fact that this kind of thing can be a catalyst to growth and bring some true things into the light. Soooooooo much of us is revealed in how we respond to each other and how much we’re willing to take responsibility for our own contributions to the brouhahas.

    God has always reminded me that I can speak a little more thoughtfully… respond a little more graciously… and pour on a heaping helping of love!

    Sorry for your heartache… I’ll be praying for you.

    And if we get to vote on it… I’ll say DO NOT STOP BLOGGING! πŸ™‚

  2. April 21, 2006 4:01 pm

    Don’t stop writing. You’re good people. You’ve got good friends who love you no matter what!

  3. April 21, 2006 4:55 pm

    Regardless of what we say, or do, there is always someone ready to challenge our motives and twist our words into something we didn’t intend.

    Jesus was perfect, yet it’s possible He had more people hating Him than any person who ever lived. We are in good company when we are judged unjustly.

  4. April 21, 2006 10:01 pm

    TCS,

    Bobby Valentine here. You dropped by my blog and I am so glad you did. As a former resident of the Magnolia State I wanted to see who TCS was and what he is thinking.

    Glad you like “Stoned-Campbell Disciple.” I like what I see here too. I will be back.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine
    http://stoned-campbelldisciple.blogspot.com/

  5. April 21, 2006 10:42 pm

    Tommy…please do not stop blogging.

    You are a blessing to me and so many others.

    I like your sense of humor and your slant on life.

  6. April 22, 2006 8:54 am

    I’ve had thoughts about whether or not to continue with blogging, but for totally different reasons than yours: I wondered if I was doing any good at all, anywhere.

    For the record (and for purely selfish reasons) here’s why I like your blog:

    1) I think I’d like you if we ever met face-to-face. Part of that has to do with your sense of humor. Your funny posts are really funny.

    2) Even when you’re being deliberately provacative (I’m not sure I can always tell) you make me think about things in a new way. I never think that you’re attempting to be hurtful.

    3) When Dee first pointed out your blog to me, you were dealing with an idea that I too was trying to get my mind around. Because of who you are and what you do for a living, your ideas about a sense of place in our theology provided a a line of thinking that I couldn’t generate by myself alone.

    4) And, Donna mentioned this in the comment to JD’s post, someone “needs a place where they can be real.” I get that sense of reality when I read your posts. Although my blogging goals are a bit different, I still need to learn how to do that in my own world and on my own blog.

    I think the decision “to blog or not to blog” is based on your tactical situation at any given moment. But I’d miss you if you stopped blogging.

    Sorry for the length of this comment, but it was liberating just to “type and not edit.” πŸ™‚ I’ll be praying for you.

  7. April 22, 2006 12:48 pm

    Blogs can be soap operas for nosey people……or they can be sources of strength & encouragement for hurting people…..or they can be a lighthearted read during a busy day or a challenge for the weak. Most times there is something different for everyone. Just don’t throw out the baby with the bath water! (I personally have a hard time with people who only read to be nosey – go watch T.V.!!!)

  8. April 23, 2006 12:17 am

    I’ve found that people get easily offended at the unknown. We offended a lot of people when we started attending a church other than the “church of Christ” Wow, did we get hit hard for that one. But after a while and a lot of talking, I think I’ve decided that a lot of people from our church background just don’t understand broadening the horizon so to speak. Growing in the understanding of God and His message.
    I’ve also learned that I can’t allow these people to prevent me from being who God wants me to be.

    And that it isn’t their fault. Just that some are ready and some aren’t.

    We are. So we moved on. I wouldn’t change it for the world.

    I feel like I have a relationship with God that I’ve never had before. A completely different kind of relationship. One that I never knew before was even an option.

    My encouragement is to continue being who you are. For the reasons God laid out for you.

    I think you and Kim and the boys are incredible people and I thank God for you all!

  9. April 24, 2006 10:43 am

    Tommy,

    I have been there! One time I was accused of not saying “Hi” to someone that I didn’t see. This was brought up at a church meeting where I was the topic of discussion!

    It sounds like your group needs a time and a place to tell their stories! This also sounds like it may have been one of those mutual interviews, where the preacher was interviewing the church as well. He may have wanted to know something about his audience, but probably not their autobiography.

    It is sad that we have to even think about censoring ourselves when we write on our blog or someone else’s. I know if I was preaching now, I would not be as transparent on my blog because so many things are taken out of context.

    Context, maybe that is the problem. It seems the CofC has a perpetuating problem with context!

    Keep blogging! Your perspectives are refreshing!

  10. April 24, 2006 10:44 am

    This post has been removed by the author.

  11. April 25, 2006 11:51 am

    Misunderstanding what a person says may have more to do with how we feel about that person than what is actually said.

  12. April 25, 2006 1:59 pm

    Ouch… Lee is painfully right. I have so much more grace on those I love deeply… and love really does cover a multitude of sins.

Leave a Reply

