Skip to content

Old Friends

April 27, 2006


I received an e-mail this morning from an old friend. He was changing jobs and I guess he had my old e-mail address still. I have no idea how long its been since we communicated. I know the last time I saw him was his wedding which was about 10 years ago.

We grew up together. We knew each other better than we knew ourselves. I remember when we first became friends, I remember the first time he came home with me. I remember our first fight and him starting to walk home (a long way away). In later years we did everything together. Baseball, Football, Threewheeler riding, Hunting, we took the same classes. We even went on a double date. I am sure you have old friends that you have lost contact with.

We went to different colleges and that started the decline in our relationship. Well actually dating probably was the start. You see I always had time for getting in trouble with the boys. He didn’t. So on nights when when we had been racing or partying as we would gather as small town boys do to talk we would see him go by on the way home from his constant girlfriend’s house.

All this reminded me of a few things. One that sometimes we get a prompting to renew a relationship with God. Maybe its been a while since we talked. Sometimes we have let life get in the way. Sometimes we are too busy doing things that God is not involved in to be close.

One good thing about old friends. They are always glad to get back in touch.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2006 10:45 am

    You’re flooding my mind TCS! I love that… when a bunch of memories just come rushing in.

    Dear, dear people. When you think about it… isn’t it amazing to consider the lives we cross paths with in life? That book I’ve been into has me considering my own social network and God’s underlying purposes.

    Along with your post, it’s prompting a prayer to form in my heart… to thank God for my Kim, my Mary, my Selandra, my Amy, my Monica…

    And now, thanks to blogging, I have several additions!

    GOD BLESS BLOGGERS! Here’s to the memories we’re making!

  2. April 27, 2006 3:18 pm

    Angie thinks I am the “codger” on the right. Or at least I will be.

  3. April 27, 2006 4:30 pm

    Wow! I remember when I used to have time for friends….

    No really, there is something great about getting together with someone from your past. It helps you remember the things that have helped define you…

  4. April 27, 2006 8:20 pm

    Thanks for the post. It makes me think about friendships that have slipped away- and what I can do to renew them.

  5. April 27, 2006 9:49 pm

    Yeah, I’m in that process now. Read Romans — what good news it is…

Leave a Reply

