Skip to content

Coffee

May 4, 2006

Everybody's talking about Gas prices. How much do you pay for a cup of coffee? Speak up.

I pay $1.75 for a large at Shipleys Donuts (no donuts for me, sad) they have Barnies coffee.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2006 12:34 pm

    Coffee….? Free! one of the perks of my office.

    I wish I could find a job where gas was a perk!

  2. May 4, 2006 12:56 pm

    Coffee? I don’t drink coffee. I drink water and then refill my bottle from the fountain! You know I’m too cheap to pay for stuff like that!

  3. May 4, 2006 1:17 pm

    I buy a can of coffee wherever it’s on sale (or the generic brand) and make my coffee at home. Not sure what that comes out to per cup.

  4. May 4, 2006 3:29 pm

    CAN’T FIND ANY COFFEE SNOBS OUT HERE IT SEEMS…..

  5. May 4, 2006 4:24 pm

    Sorry, no coffee snob here, either. But I would take a donut or two.

    Diet Coke with (real) lemon at Sonic: $1.89.

  6. May 4, 2006 5:21 pm

    Well, I’m guilty. I’m a true coffee loser. I pay for Starbucks , Grande Mocha nonfat iced latte no whip….$3.30,twice a week. The rest of the week, I get a regular coffee at $1.90.

    Yes, I know, I know. I spend entirely too much money on coffee.
    *grin*

  7. May 4, 2006 8:47 pm

    Do you remember when it cost a quarter?

    (How old AM i?)

    Alas, I make my own. I must have it immediately after waking up, or I am just not my charming self.

    🙂

  8. May 4, 2006 11:01 pm

    I sometimes pay a few extra dollars for extra special coffee on special occasions, like staff meetings. If I’m in a hurry, I’ll make instant coffee in the microwave. I tried chewing just grounds once, but didn’t like it much.

  9. May 5, 2006 12:09 am

    Did I mention that the purchasing of Starbucks coffee is in addition to my morning coffee at home that I make myself?? I remember when coffee was .50, but I don’t remember when it was a quarter. Am I the baby around here or what?! *grin*

  10. May 5, 2006 7:17 am

    That’s one reason I don’t drink coffee… 🙂

  11. May 5, 2006 10:26 am

    Tommy –

    You remember MY tirade about expensive coffee from last spring in “The Ultimate Gourmet Food”, with the very next post grousing even more.

    Then, there was the sequel last July when I went out to Abilene to visit my mom and sister and had to post my “Confessions From the Edge of the Sun”.

    However – having totally trashed expensive coffee, I have to further confess that the past few weeks I’ve fallen from favor with my own highest expectations of myself and have had a couple of iced coffees in Slidell (large, no less – well “venti” at Starbucks), one from Starbucks and the other from PJ’s the New Orleans “chain” that is much, much better than Starbucks, actually.

    Then this past Wednesday, following the doctors’ visits marathon (I actually saw 3 doctors between 11:45 a.m. and 1:45 p.m. in Slidell) and having had not so good news and despite being told to stay off my foot for the couple of months to come, I went by PJ’s and had a large granita (a frozen sweet coffee slushie that is to die for – especially for us diabetics, but I gave myself a big slug of insulin and drank it, anyway) to console and comfort myself as I slogged through the rest of my errands before coming “home.”

    To be fair to myself, it WAS the only thing I had to eat all day and for most of the evening as I tend to shut down when I’m stressed out and not be able to eat.

    Love that coffee!

    OH – normally – and I covered all this in the post mentioned above – Wal-Mart’s big can of arabica coffee is the least expensive and best around. Drink it every morning. Love it. Except when my stupid two prong small appliance cord isn’t shorted out, as now, but that’s another issue for another day and one I’m working on.

    cheers! Dee

    (P. S. That’s actually a “semi-cheers” if you notice, but I’m working on it. I’m going to write a post this afternoon updating you on the latest depressing medical news and how I’m coming to view it. Better. That’s all I’ll say now. Better.)

  12. May 5, 2006 3:19 pm

    hang in there Dee.

    I say don’t skimp on the coffee.

Leave a Reply

