Skip to content

Memory

May 4, 2006

This picture was taken in Natchez, Mississippi, a town known for its anabellum mansions.

Cold Drinks and Cigars.

Watch your step! I like the screen door and the bench out front. And I love the look on that woman's face.

This picture reminds me of a few things. One the houses on our farm that we used to rent out. And the people that lived in them. Wood that I guess had never seen paint. Porches with floors worn by many a foot. Reminds me of doorways in Florence Italy where the stone is worn down by centuries of traffic.

Wood has a property that is referred to as "memory". Wood that is bent or twisted or bowed in a certain way for long enough wants to remain in that position. For instance old houses where the floors are unlevel. You can jack them back into a level position but the beams and floor joist may have memory of that unlevel position and without replacing them or breaking them, they will revert to that condition. When they do this sometimes if they can't go back down they will push everything else up and you end up with broken windows and doors that will not open or shut, etc.

We are like that too. It is difficult to overcome the shaping you have had on your life. It may be good memory or bad memory, but it forms us. It shouldn't surprise us that it takes time and pressure for us to change. It also shouldn't surprise us that when we want others to change they resist that change. Their memory resists.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2006 12:20 pm

    Your post takes me back to my days growing up in North Alabama. I saw your post on preachermike and just wanted to drop you a line.

    Peace.

  2. May 4, 2006 3:30 pm

    I think we really can’t change…just like that wood….but the Spirit can move in and take over for us.

  3. May 5, 2006 8:04 am

    TCS,

    Can you tell me how to get a link in the comments to show up so someone can click on it an go to that site. When I post a link on my blogspot, it never turns blue and gives a link.

    smpuckster@mac.com

    Peace.

  4. May 5, 2006 11:27 am

    Hey T! I am here… don’t call 911! Just haven’t had enough time to contemplate a post or enough thought to leave a comment. I’ve really been enjoying this post though… EXCELLENT pics, for sure. But my favorite commentary you’ve made has to be this one. Lots of layers to memory, and it left me making applications all day. So, thanks for that!

  5. May 5, 2006 11:28 am

    (meant to say I’ve really been enjoying this SERIES… duh!)

Leave a Reply

