Skip to content

Its tough

May 5, 2006


This picture is titled "Its tough, but life is tough however you take it". That was the quote given by the man under the car.

I chose this one for today because for a couple of weeks I have had a rock from my mother-in-laws driveway wedged between my oil pan and the frame of my car. (well technically cars don't have frames anymore but unless you want a diagram…) I could put the car on my ramps and get to a point that I could feel it but not unlodge it. I had taken it to my usual mechanic who said "leave it with us for half a day" translation $240. I said "I'm too busy". So today I noticed my tire place , which is great (they will fix a flat for free even if they didn't put the tire on, among other services) . I told them I just needed about 2 minutes of time on the lift to get this rock out. Did I mention that at low RPM's the rock rattled and caused the entire interior to vibrate and rattle.

Well about 5 minutes is what it took. Can't expect an mechanic to be in too big a hurry. A long screwdriver and rubber mallet later the rock was broken and my car back to normal. No charge.

The family in the picture are on their way to Arkansas to look for work picking crops. They are between Austin Texas and Dallas. I have driven that stretch… not where you would want to break down. They have 3 gallons of gas and that's it. Reminds me of my uncle who was always under the hood of his car. We would go in the summer to Opryland and the 2 – 1/2 hour trip would take all day with the regular breakdowns.

I guess Joel Olsteen would recommend they get some Jesus in their lives and these troubles would go away.

I would recommend the next time you see someone in the ditch (literally or figuratively) you take the time to get dirty and help them out. It might be as simple as getting a rock out.

And I wanted to add that Caleb hit a Grandslam last night! And Eli got player of the game for his team!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2006 3:00 pm

    Way to go Caleb and Eli!!

    Oh, wasn’t Opryland grand? The Wabash Cannonball was just divine.

    NJ (At least, it caused me to pray a lot.)

  2. May 5, 2006 3:08 pm

    We only made it to Opryland once, and I was too young to remember it. But we made regular trips to Libertyland in Memphis. I remember that big rickety wooden rollercoaster… and the cool rollercoaster called the “Revolution” because it made a loop.

    I am so happy for Eli and Caleb! Great fun!

  3. May 5, 2006 3:18 pm

    the other was the Zippin Pippin!

  4. May 5, 2006 3:28 pm

    High Fives to Caleb and Eli!

    Turning Opryland into a shopping mall was a big mistake IMHO, But its closing gave a big boost to Dollywood and Branson, MO.

    Seeing the guy under the car reminded me of the day when you could actually work on our own car.

  5. May 5, 2006 3:46 pm

    Way to go baseball boys!!

    Good ole’ Joel…didn’t he write that song “Don’t worry, be happy?”

    **sarcasm drips**

  6. May 5, 2006 5:22 pm

    Don’t lie to me – you flirted with that mechanic!

  7. May 6, 2006 9:50 am

    Hard to find a good Samaritan anymore, but there are still a few around. I love the old truck I have a simalar picture of my Grandpa Meredith and family moving from Grayson county Kentucky to Mt.View Arkansas in 1932. and we think we have it tough just because gas cost $3.00 per gallen for our air conditioned surburban.

  8. May 6, 2006 4:21 pm

    Hey, Tommy –

    Another great picture, analogy and post. I read it yesterday evening, but didn’t have time to comment, and then when I talked with Tom later on the phone (he was in New Orleans at Jazz Fest), he told me he was running a little late coming home because he’d had a flat tire on (my) Pathfinder that he found when he left the Festival.

    Luckily, he had two good friends with him who changed the tire and put on the full sized spare (where do you find THOSE these days, you know?! They’re all donuts!) for him after they all 3 dug the manual out of the glove compartment (Anyone say THAT any more? What do y’all call it? Car pocket?) to figure out (1) where the spare was (under the chassis) and where the tire tools were (under the back seat).

    Tom took it in early this morning to see about having the tire repaired and it turned out to be just the valve stem that had to be replaced, so the tire company did that and he was on his way again (back to Jazz Fest, of course).

    We also have an “it could have been – surely was – an angel” story from the last time we had a flat tire (on the Honda) many months back in the middle of the night. I’ll have to tell you THAT story one day.

  9. May 7, 2006 12:50 pm

    My mother has a picture of her mother’s family when her mother was a very young child. The traveling photographer photographed the family beside the house but my granny didn’t want to be in the picture. She ran inside and looked out the window to watch…. and is in the picture just as pretty as you please. A lot of times, we run from things we’re afraid of and we end up being right in the center of what’s going on.

  10. May 7, 2006 1:54 pm

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

Leave a Reply

