Skip to content

Sitting out front

May 11, 2006

Really too much I could say about this picture.

+ Nice car.

+ I hope is foot doesn't slip.

+ if you are a guy and wear your pants that high and still need to roll them up….

+ just how much money has Coca-Cola spent over the years on advertising?

I assume this is at a store. The picture is of a plantation foreman in "The Delta". In Mississippi if you are from The Delta you are different and everyone else is from the hills. Trust me, people from the delta are different.

The picture I am guessing is on a non work day. Although I am reminded of my cousin Otis (really a distant cousin) who would hold court in front of the local hardware store He was a gifted storyteller and trust me they were "colorful". I remember women at church talking about how disgraceful it was for him to do that during the week. Funny that they would say "disgraceful" when that is what they were.

Otis never met a story he couldn't help along. But the best one on him I know is when his wife and children decided that the pronunciation of the family name was too country, hickish, and unbecoming. So they started correcting everyone. I can't figure out a way to phonetically type it where it makes sense. All over the small town people were forced into saying a name with the accent of Mrs. Drysdale from the Beverly Hillbillies. It was an uphill battle. It is hard to achieve upper crust prominence in a town of 600. Especially when your husband/ daddy spends most of the day in front of the local gathering spot reclining in one of the wheelbarrows on display out front.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2006 1:08 pm

    History, especially when you have old photographs to capture the moment, is good stuff.

    Guess we all have backgrounds of people within the family wanting to change the family name. My relatives came from Germany bearing the name Mauser, but it soon became Mouser in many instances. I once asked why, and was told because we’re related to the Mausers that made all the rifles, bayonets, etc. that killed so many people…now we’re Mousers; like the cat that chases mice…not a good change! 🙂

  2. May 12, 2006 3:24 pm

    Not sure where in the world you came across all these old photos, but I dig them (and my dad really would!).

    This guy in this one must’ve been the inspiration for the Pappy O’Daniel character in “O Brother Where Art Thou!” I can just hear him:

    Pappy O’Daniel (to his son, Junior who says he’s ‘pressin’ the flesh’ for his Daddy’s campaign): I’ll press your flesh, you dimwit! You don’t tell your pappy how to court the electorate. We ain’t one-at-a-timin’ here. We’re MASS communicating!

Leave a Reply

